Tyranny PC Game Review (basically Fantasy Judge Dredd)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Good mornin-afternoo-vening dear readers and welcome to what I consider to be a modern classic, or at the very least, a game that has a high probability of becoming a modern classic of the cRPG genre. Today I’ll be talking about...Tyranny.



This game lit up my radar something big from the moment I saw the announcement trailer, the idea of playing an RPG in a world where evil had won made me curious to see exactly how the people at Obsidian used this theme from a gameplay perspective. Keep in mind, I am a wannabe game-designer myself, so I get very excited about new ways of doing things with the medium of RPGs in general.


Just to make sure everyone knows the fundamentals before I start, Tyranny is set in a world where an incredibly powerful sorcerer - Kyros - has conquered almost the entirety of the known world. The events in the game, the ones which you will have a direct hand in, deal with the last remaining free territories and how they’re conquered, to a large extent, by you.


You are a Fatebinder, a representative of Tunon the Adjudicator - who is one of four Archons that work for Kyros. You’ll get to meet and talk to all four of them throughout the game, but they’re not incredibly relevant for the purposes of this review. What is relevant is to understand that you’re not just any average Joe in this world, nor are you any kind of Chosen One either, you are endowed with a certain amount of responsibilities and protection due to your status. 


The Fatebinders are a type of judge-jury-and-executioner capable of deciding on every type of legal issue that is brought to their attention, from minor squabbles between various people to dealing with the Archons.
You are basically Judge Dredd, and the whole idea behind Tyranny can be very succinctly described as pretty much fantasy Judge Dredd. Which is even more of a point in the game’s favor as far as I’m concerned, since I’m a big fan of 2000AD and especially Judge Dredd.


But while Dredd is bound and adamant on following the letter of the Law, you as a Fatebinder can oftentimes interpret the laws given by Kyros, and this will depend to a certain extent on your Lore skill, so in order to get as much as you can from this aspect of the game - and it’s very important for immersion purposes - I suggest you invest in Lore, regardless of the type of character you’ll be running.
So this is your starting point, you already work for the conqueror of the entire world, not only that but as the game unfolds, you’ll become responsible for dealing with the remaining free territories.
There is no good or evil path in this game, because evil, a tyrant, has already won, and you work for him. There’s only the law and how you decide to interpret and apply it. 


You can choose between the disciplined approach of the Unfavored or the chaotic approach of the Scarlet Chorus, these being the two military factions of Kyros’ rule, each of them being lead by a distinct Archon. There’s also a Neutral Path, but I don’t suggest you go for that from the start, try for the Neutral Path after you first playthrough. I suggest you go with your gut and see where the story takes you the first time you start up Tyranny, this way you’ll be more personally involved into what happens further down the line.
The game has an interesting way of setting the stage, because your character has been part of events that took place before your actual entry point into the game. But instead of creating a few different versions of what might’ve happened till this starting point, the developers found a way of letting you decide what happened in your character’s past.


And you can actually play through the prequel events that lead to the current situation of the gameworld. You can also skip it and choose one of the three options I highlighted earlier, but at least for your first playthrough, I suggest you play the Conquest stage as well. Everything that happens during this stage has direct consequences in the game that you’ll be experiencing, in terms of the various factions’ reactions to you.
I love the fact that Obsidian basically introduced a tiny interactive narrative mini-game into their massive cRPG.

But that’s enough about how the game feels, suffice to say, it’s a great experience, let’s move onto how the game plays.

The biggest characteristic regarding Tyranny’s gameplay, once you get deeper into it, has to be the extremely high level of customization that you as the player have access to.
One would expect to be able to customize one’s player character - of course - choosing stats and relevant skills that you start with, but what I didn’t expect was not only the fact that the player then will have several talent trees at his or her disposal to further specialize and customize their character to their play style. But that the same thing applies to your companions as well.
Regardless of the type of background you choose for your character you will have access to all of the talent trees, the background is only the foundation of your character, you will be in very serious control as to how you’re going to play the game. Although if you’re making a spellcasting character, you might want to focus your talents into the Magic tree, just as a general tip.


Similarly, all of your companions get talent trees as well, although they will be generally limited to only two trees, but not necessarily. This means that you can actually mold and build up your companions to fill any gaps in your party. Although, focusing Lantry on anything but his Healing tree might be a bit of a bad idea.  
In terms of the backgrounds, they are all detailed and different one from the other, spanning a wide range of personality types, but they’re almost all of them downers, on the other hand what would you expect from a world controlled by a tyrant? Also, a slightly less important point in the overall scheme of things, but something I tend to pay close attention to, lots of portraits available when creating your character, both male and female.
And you’d think this is where I’d normally stop talking about customization right? I mean, your PC gets a crap-tonne of talent trees, your companions get talent trees as well, but you’d be wrong. And so was I before starting to play, because Tyrrany allows you to also customize your spells.


That’s right, you don’t learn spells with set characteristics, instead your learn sigils and accents and then you mix and match them and make your own spells. This means that you can make spells that affect only yourself, or others, aura spells, direct damage spells, area of effect spells, so on and so forth. You can create any sort of spell you’d like, as long as you have a high enough Lore to cast it, and know the relevant sigils and accents.
This also means that every once in awhile you need to check your spells and update them, because as your Lore increases, and you gain new accents, you can make your spells last longer, reach farther, do more damage, reduce their cooldown etc.
And on this bombshell...I’m still not done talking about how customizable this game is, let me get back to companions.


One very cool combat feature in Tyranny is the companion combos. You get access to a unique combo move with each of your companions, and these range in usefulness from somewhat useful - like Lantry’s ability, to OP-as-fuck combos like Verse’s Fury’s Rage and Eb’s Terratus’ Embrace.
And the companion combos are just a part of the whole package, since the companions will also develop particular abilities based on the type of reputation you build with them. This is built as a result of your actions and dialogue exchanges with them.


Not mention that there are certain companions that can develop combo abilities between each other, after you develop a high enough reputation with each of them.
I can’t fathom how in the hell they approached balancing all these various customizable systems, but I’m glad they found a way and would be more than interesting in reading about it in detail, so if any of you have any clue or links preferably, drop me a line in the comments.


So now it’s time to talk about the twin-elephants in the room, the type of combat and the storytelling aspect.
The first one, is unfortunately, real time combat with pause, and I have made my feelings on this type of combat quite clear in both my Ember and Masquerada reviews, but what I also mentioned in those reviews is that I will easily overlook this choice of game design if the other parts of the game lure me in, and suffice to say, Tyranny does this more than adequately.


I actually have some positive things to say about the combat in Tyranny, especially when you compare it with the one in Pillars of Eternity. For starters, In Tyranny it helps that the party number is limited to four characters, this helps a lot with the clusterfuckness of the encounters. It’s simply much easier to tell what’s going on, with a reduced number of characters. It is also easier to keep track of which skills have been used when you only have to cycle through four characters. Although, trust me, there will always be skills and abilities that won’t be used because you can only hot-key a limited number of them, the rest being available through a secondary menu, which you’ll only have the time and inclination to access, when dealing with a particularly tough encounter. Now don’t get me wrong, I would’ve still prefered turn-based but as far as I’m concerned, the combat in Tyranny is more than acceptable, even for old-schoolers such as myself.


Besides the reduced party, the companion AI has been improved over the one in Pillars of Eternity, even if ever so slightly, and this tends to make managing the real time component of combat a bit easier. The default setting of companion AI is to protect the party, and they do this quite well.


Now onto the other elephant in the room, the storytelling aspect. I feel like I have to reference back to my Ember and Masquerada reviews yet again, because those two titles disappointed me tremendously when it came to this part. And it wasn’t due to a lack of worldbuilding within the titles - Masquerada especially had a lot of work put into its worldbuilding - it all had to do with how the info was presented.


The difference between those two titles and Tyranny - in terms of storytelling -  is the difference between me asking myself ”What the fuck is going on?” and not bothering with it and “Why the fuck is this going on?” and me being interested in it. The latter one being applied to Tyranny.


I think I spent somewhere around 30% of my playtime simply reading through the discussions I had with my companions and other characters in the game-world. Not only is the story itself compelling, not only is the game written very well, but the devs managed to make it, an actual gameplay mechanic. I was actually feeling curiosity and trepidation as to what was going to happen next. It isn’t there simply to dump background information on the player’s screen, because what you say and how you act will have a direct influence on how your companions and the various other factions in the game react to you.


There is an option in the game settings that will display after each dialogue choice, how said choice will affect your reputation with any given faction. Thankfully this option isn’t ON by default, and I suggest you keep it that way for your first playthrough. Again, I suggest you go with your gut and answer as close to what you or your character would answer in said circumstances, and see where that gets you. You can turn that option ON for your following playthroughs in order to be sure you’ll be getting different outcomes.


The music is epic, engaging and moody. Coincidentally, those adjectives apply to the game overall as well. And besides some occasional audio clipping here and there - when a lot of stuff was happening on screen, which could’ve been caused by my slow laptop - the game’s music is a pleasure to listen to while playing.
So up until now I’ve been kissing this game’s ass constantly, and for good reason but… there’s some room for improvement, Tyranny isn’t all that it could be.


The game - and storyline - feels rushed, from about the 60-to-65% completion stage, you can clearly see that they probably planned to add in a lot more content, not to mention a considerably less anti-climactic ending. This was the only thing that let me down about Tyranny, that it wasn’t bigger.


I do suspect, and hope, that Tyranny, much like Pillars of Eternity, will see some expansions in the future, where the devs can add in the content they planned on initially and also continue the story, because, the way it ends in the game, let’s just say there’s no way they’re not going to follow this up, there are quite a few story threads that need to be tied up. And considering how interesting the whole approach of the game was to begin with, I’m hoping the story will end differently than what one might expect. I did find it quite weird that the beginning narration is done from the perspective of those yet to be completely conquered, so that seemed an odd way of setting up the story to begin with...hmmm.


So now let me end this review by saying this. It has been a long, very long time, since I was this excited by an RPG. Honestly, while I have enjoyed my time in various RPG worlds, and will continue to do so in the future, I haven’t been this into an RPG world and gameplay since Fallout 1 and 2. Yeah, I said it, and I also think that Tyranny will soon take its place alongside titles such as Fallout 1 and 2, as a modern classic of computer role playing games.


And that’s it for this super-long, Tyranny review, thanks for reading and I hope you found it informative.

Don’t forget to upvote, resteem, comment and follow!"

...

Tyranny on Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/362960/Tyranny/

You can find me in these places as well: 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/StefaNonsense 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CNonsense/ 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/stefanonsense/  

Join me on my friends' GaminGHD Discord Server https://discord.gg/CZSXJwy 

Gaming-Related Friends you should follow: @free999enigma & @ropname
 

Sort:  

Congratulations @stefanonsense! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice - I was gifted this from a friend of mine but have yet to play it. Love the genre and have enjoyed many other Obsidian RPGs. I'll save this for my bedtime reading tonight. Thanks!

Good to know! Let me know what you thought about it after you read it ;)

Ok - just read it. This is a really solid and detailed review. You've made me very keen to play it - now I just need to find the time! It's been sitting in my Steam backlog for six months already, and is well overdue a play!

That said, I've got three bits of criticism for you:
First, check out this link (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comma_splice) as while on the whole you write well, you're comma-splicing a lot. Watch out for this, as once you clear this out of your writing, you can consider yourself having leveled up in a big way!

Second, you wrote too much about your feelings about the ending and how there's definitely room for more - at this point I skipped to the next paragraph as I (and I'm sure others) don't want any details about endings at all. If you feel it's anticlimactic, say that and only that. You're dipping this toes into spoiler territory, sir! :)

Third, and this is very minor, is that captions can add good context to your screenshots. Consider writing a sentence or two to accompany each image, maybe?

So, hopefully the criticism is read only constructively, as that's how I intend it. I follow you for a reason: you post great stuff. Keep it up!

You seem to be quite an RPG fan and into a lot of the same games as I am. Have you looked through my blog history here on Steemit? I've posted quite a few interviews with the writers, designers and developers of these exact games that you might enjoy.

Cheers, looking forward to more!

Hey man, thanks for the feedback. I'll look into the first point you make more thoroughly but you need to keep in mind I write these so that I can read them for my videos - the commas are there to tell me when it's time to have a breath because talking without brakes is very tiring for the listeners; but I'll make sure to read up on it since I do consider myself a writer first :)

I very rarely dip into actual spoiler territory - even when it comes to my movie reviews - and if I do, I make sure to mention it from the get-go.

Yes, about image descriptions - again, I design these to be listened to and viewed on YT - hence the lack of very appropriate images :)

I am a huge fan of RPGs - am actually sometime working on developing my own tabletop RPG system focused on role-play and storytelling - and I have made a mental note of checking out some of the interviews on your account ;)

Great! As long as you only read what I've commented as an attempt to offer constructive feedback!
Yep, was sure there was no hard spoiler coming - but even so, I generally want to know as little as possible about an ending. :)

I didn't know you were doing these for YouTube, actually. Will have to watch one some time!

EDIT: That play icon in the video you embedded was so hidden by the colours that I didn't see it until now! Had no idea that was a playable video! :)

Most of them are videos :) Also since they're videos, I will usually put in all sorts of visual references that only work as part of the video, so there's usually a bonus to seeing the videos :) As long as you won't have a problem with my accent, you'll be fine :)

Haha no problem with the accent! I've worked in both Norway and Iceland, so I'm used to your viking sounds.

And forgot to mention the last time: huge Judge Dredd/2000AD fan for the last 25 or so years. Even more keen to play Tyranny now that you've described it in this way. :)

:)) I may live in Danmark, but I'm originally from Romania :) so expect a more Eastern European-type accent as opposed to a Scandinavian one.

As to Judge Dredd, I've been working on a Dredd Mega-Review - relating to the Dredd movie, which I love, and the tie-in comics.

I've been reading the comics from the start for a couple of years now, I think I'm somewhere around '87-'88 :))

Thank you for the resteem @liberosist I appreciate it a lot!

uuuu nice @stefanonsense, @liberosist is a big guy from what i can see :D

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 8.33 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @badastroza. It is so easy to use @steemthat. Just transfer 0.010 to @steemthat and a copy of the link you want upvoted in the memo. alt text .

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75