Dark Devotion is a Roguelike Souls Like seeking crowdfundingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Good mornin-afternoo-vening, dear Steemians!

Today doing something a little bit different, I’ll be playing a Kickstarter demo for a game called Dark Devotion - a roguelike and a souls like action RPG.

I have to say that it was only a matter of time before these two genres would be combined. Roguelikes have seen a fresh resurgence in the past couple of years, and the souls like genre is becoming its own thing, so it only makes sense for these two hardcore-type gaming genres to be coupled sooner or later.

And that’s exactly what Dark Devotion developers - Hibernian Workshop - have done and are now seeking funding through Kickstarter.

I had access to playing the Heavy Demo version of the game, which means access to more areas and more bosses. And I have to tell you that this is one challenging motherfucker of a game

Souls like game mechanics

In true souls like fashion, stamina management is your main concern, you can outfit different types of items - two sets of items actually - and you can also use a limited number of items.

Roguelike game mechanics

In true roguelike fashion though, the items are always random drops and I think even the rooms of a stage get shuffled around somewhat. Some of them are static, sure, but each area seems to have two doors that you can exit and enter through. So I think both the room you enter as well as the door you enter through get randomly generated. But I’m not sure about it, it’s just a theory.

There are also several stats that you can upgrade using an in-game resource.

The more you advance through the game - which means the more bosses you defeat, you get access to an increasing number of customization as to your playstyle.

Whenever you resurrect, you get - at first - one or two random blessings for your following attempt. Well, after you down a boss or two, you’ll actually be able to choose from some of the blessings, and as you down more bosses you get to customize more and more of these.

Combat

As you’d expect from this sort of a game, combat revolves around you hitting and dodging your enemy’s attacks. They all have patterns of attack so once you’ve become accustomed to them, you’ll be able to pretty much cut through them without incurring a lot of damage.

The Bosses

When it comes to the bosses, the seem to be running on a WoWesque type of rage timer. Once you’ve taken half of their HP they enrage and start a different, more aggressive, attack pattern.

Final thoughts

I thoroughly enjoyed playing through the Dark Devotion Heavy Demo, and even though I didn’t get to kill all of the bosses I experience enough of the game to tell you that this is one Kickstarter project that requires your attention.

It took me several hours of enwrapped gameplay to actually put my finger on why I enjoy the game as much as I do. It’s pixel art and 2D, you’re a lone character having to fight your way through what seems to be a city-sized prison, there’s platforms, items and traps.

Dark Devotion reminded me of my much younger years, playing the first Prince of Persia, and those are some wonderful memories indeed.

Don’t forget to upvote, resteem, comment and follow!

...

Dark Devotion Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1997592363/dark-devotion-a-gloomy-indie-roguelike-rpg

You can find me in these places as well:

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNonsense/featured

Twitter: https://twitter.com/StefaNonsense

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CNonsense/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/stefanonsense/

Join me on my friends' GaminGHD Discord Server https://discord.gg/CZSXJwy

Gaming-Related Friends you should follow: @free999enigma and @ropname

Sort:  

I like this! Reminds me of my gaming days filled with Prince of Persia, Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers...ha! Those were the days.

I will ty to back this project on Kickstarter. Seems good enough and hopefully they will reach their goal.

Thank you for the info :)

Glad you enjoyed it. It is a great project to support if you can. Keep in mind you can try out the demo anyway ;)

Great post and very informative. @stefanonsense Have learnt a lot from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64