SteemGC Weekend Gaming News! - Fallout, Steam and Magic the Gathering

in #gaming6 years ago

SteemGC Weekend Gaming News! [July, Week 4] - Fallout, Steam and Magic the Gathering


thumbnail III.png

Hello, it's @tsukuyomi again and since I am late with the news this week (my whole schedule has been slow due to me reviewing games that require a lot of playing) these will be weekend news instead of Mid-Weeks. Let's hope I can catch up to my normal schedule this week.

However, before we jump onto the news:

Remember to follow us for more game related content and Resteem/Upvote/Comment if you liked this article, now, onto it!

Fallout 4 modders are working on an official-expansion-sized Miami mod.



Image Source: Fallout Miami

Bethesda Softworks has always been pretty cool about mods as long as they use their assets and stick to legal rules about content, so the modding community is putting together a huge mod called Fallout: Miami and is currently looking for people to work on it.

Their plans are to cover from South Pointe Pier to Fontainebleau Hotel and it's planned to have a main quest and several side quests to keep players entertained, even going as far as to get extensive voice acting for it. Also, along with it I caught, thanks to Polygon covering the whole news, that a mod for New Vegas, called New California is also on the works apparently. Taking that New Vegas is perhaps the most acclaimed of Fallout games and remains timeless and still enjoyable, I hope these two projects see the light and we are all able to enjoy them.

There's no date of release, since the community is just starting to work on it but if it comes to fruition it will certainly be an interesting take on yet another aspect of North America, its culture and the atomic war.

You can read the FAQ set up by the team on the unnoficial expansion's Subreddit.

DQmQzArb35U7TNhauzAo62a9tQGKJEbKfjY441xe7ZWyyXz.png

Steam has updated its chat


share_steam_logo.png

Image Source: Valve Software

Or rather, Steam is stepping up to compete with Discord and Slack, since Discord is the most popular gaming communication software.

To be quite honest, and leaving my two cents here, I never use Steam chat, it always seemed more like a tool to let someone know something if you're playing with them within Steam but even then, I would prefer other methods, however Steam has updated the chat and the first and foremost change is that it displays GIFs. It also lets you organize your friends by party or the games that they are playing, the design is more polished and attractive to the eye and it also allows you to favorite friends.

Let us know what you think of the new chat! It went live for all users this week and I definitely caught up on the change, how about you?

DQmQzArb35U7TNhauzAo62a9tQGKJEbKfjY441xe7ZWyyXz.png

A Black Lotus appears on the Magic: The Gathering Grand Prix at Shiba, Japan.


2ed-233-black-lotus.jpg

Image Source: Wizards of the Coast

You may or may not be familiar with Magic: The Gathering, a card game that's very popular in some places, but still not quite mainstream.

Well, the reason why it made the news is because a Black Lotus, the most popular, rare and valuable card in the game, showed up at a Grand Prix tournament in Japan while opening Unlimited set packs, this is a huge things for Magic players because these cards are from 1993, yes, 1993! And only around a thousand of their Alpha versions were ever printed, although they are banned for all tournaments except from Vintage, an Alpha version of Black Lotus was auctioned off in 2013 for $27.000. I'm an avid Magic: The Gathering player and the last time I saw a Black Lotus being drawn from a pack was a good 4 or 5 years ago, on video that is, I have never seen one in person even.

That's a very valuable card.

DQmQzArb35U7TNhauzAo62a9tQGKJEbKfjY441xe7ZWyyXz.png

And that is it for now! Thank you for reading as always and I hope to see you soon!

Follow @SteemGC for more articles like this and leave a comment with your opinions, upvote and resteem if you liked the article and see you on my next post!

logo+text_preview.png

Sort:  

$27.000 dollar for a magic Card is insane.
I wish I had still my old pokemon 1st edition cards some of them also rise in price well and I can remember how I played with a Glurak 1st edition on the floor.

@steemgc, is "Steam" a part of" Steem"? Can you confirm for me, please ?

I've got some pretty rare and valuable yu gi oh cards, I've played magic: the gathering but I didn't collect them.

Congratulations @steemgc! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80