SteemGC Game Review - Hotline Miami

in #gaming6 years ago

djfudfjid.png

Hello Gamers! this is @tsukuyomi once more and today instead of reviewing a game I'll talk to you about why you should try one, what's good, and where to get it, and this week's game will be one that I have had tons of fun playing by now: Hotline Miami.

But before we jump onto it, remember to follow @SteemGC for more content like this, Resteem, Vote and Comment if you liked the article. Alright, let's go!

Why you should play Hotline Miami:

Ever since I saw this game for the first time on the Steam store I was intrigued but very intimidated, first, gore is not on my list of things I like in games, and also, the pizel art is... Questionable. However, I am so glad I gave this game a chance because I see the brilliance behind its questionable pizel art and its gore, so, I should have played sooner and you should play it too, I'll tell you why:

The thrill

ss_75386edf15a48d844dc28ffdc61eb5c458d68533.jpg

I have tried playing this game in a thoughtful and calmed manner, and having strategies and whatnot. I always end up with the same result: It doesn't work. It doesn't matter how much I try to make strategies, think, move slowly or calculate it, the way to play this is just storming in, tackling enemies however you can and praying your butt off that they don't kill you in your attempt.

The strategy

ss_a2aa276b25345368d00338cfe54ebbcfa0c60168.jpg

Yes, I just said the was no strategy but, within this chaos there's order. After going through a stage, or rather trying to, a few times, you'll start to develop a course and act on a momentum. This is what I started spontaneously calling "a schedule". My character even had a backstory that I made for him, in which he was order-obssessed and everyone needed to follow his killing schedule. This is because the AI will have different behaviors at random restars of stages and once they do that they mess up your entire run.

You might think the game is pretty straight forward, and it is at first but there are so many ways to navigate a level, things go wrong, you make a new plan, you try new things, you laugh, you fail, you mess up and then you finish the crazy level to get thrown into an even crazier level.

But that cannot be all there is about this game right?

The Plot

ss_f83ca303a29e85a9d1ded58dfac10b282f0df481.jpg

The plot is probably the part I've enjoyed the most about this game, I won't spoil it for you but from the beginning you noticed some interesting facts: First, you have an awful place, dirty and torn, but after a few missions you start seeing little changes in it and it's very amusing to wait for what's gonna change when you're back at your place.

Also, there's an underlying platline knowing in which mysterious characters share conversations with you and you have no idea what's going on. There's even a guy you will strangely encounter at every place and give you free things that are "on the house", even though you go to all kinds of places, and he seems to work in all of them. The game starts off weirdly and confusing and as you get past the idea of it just being a killing spree, it shows you its true colors.

Overall

hotlinemiami_siteheader.gif

This game is sick, in a good way sick. It's invasive, intimidating, gross and hard to digest, and it's also really fun, thrilling, addicting and alluring. It's a game that on the outside it looks like a twisted adventure that you want to discover but not really follow up on. You might feel uncomfortable at first, but when you truly inspect ths game you find the true intent of creators, and you have fun too.

That is why you should play Hotline Miami.

And if you play it and want more, guess what, Hotline Miami 2 is a thing.

You can get Hotline Miami from their Steam store and check out their official website.


Thank you very much for reading, I'll see you next with a rundown of the new things Nintendo announced for Ultimate Smash Bros!

Follow @SteemGC for more articles like this and leave a comment with your opinions, upvote and resteem if you liked the article and see you on my next post! 🦊

Sort:  

I played this one too, disturbing but fun and very well designed. Nice review, I had almost forgotten about the sequel.

Hotline Miami was sick as fuck. I remember playing it a couple of years ago on a pc borrowed from a friend of mine and I totally had a blast. The mask collection thing, how each and everyone of them works, how differently you can tackle a level from so many others and so on. Hotline miami is truly one of those games you need to play at least once. Great post dude!

Besides, the music is dope as hell and that's how I discovered synthwave and it's subgenres.

And hey, i'll try talking a little bit about the smash direct too so i'll see you on the next time as well!

Congratulations @steemgc! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72