My attempt at a 3rd person shooter game.

in #gaming7 years ago

My attempt at a 3rd person shooter game.

For some time now, i have been experimenting with a game engine called unity3d, which is a very beginner friendly game engine, with lots of documentation and helpful tutorials, i had until not long ago not made any serious attempts at games yet. However not long ago i decided to give it a shot, as i had programming in school, and this was supposed to be my exam project.

The game is set in a post-apocalyptic environment, where you surprisingly enough have to kill zombies. The ai haven't been implemented yet, but the guns can deal damage to environmental objects though.
I have decided to focus on creating a certain atmosphere, with foggy streets, and dark surroundings. As i know that my artistic skills easily out-level my programming skills, i had to focus at the graphical aspect of the game. I made all of the 3d models with blender, which is a really good free graphical program, which has nearly all of the features that the paid programs have.
I then got some textures from a royalty free texture website called textures.com(such a surprise huh).

Below is a picture of one of the two guns that currently are in the game.
Untitled.png

Programming however is where my problems began, as i didn't have that much experience with it. I was however able to make something that worked quite well, by combining what i had learned in class, and quite a few tutorials.

Here is a picture from the game.
pasted image 0.png

I do currently not really plan on releasing anything, as im still learning, and it would need a lot of fine tuning for me to make it ready for that.

The game is not yet nearly finished, and therefore any feedback, especially when it comes to buildings, is greatly appreciated.
Also if anyone has engine related questions i will gladly help as i have been fiddling around with unity for around five years now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37