25 Days of Christmas: Day TwelvesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Welcome fellow Steemians! This is the twelfth entry in my "25 Days of Christmas" giveaway series, in which I will be giving away a Steem Monsters starter pack each day till Christmas! All are welcome to participate. We had eight entries yesterday.

Welcome to Steem Monsters!

Steem Monsters is a decentralized trading card game, built on the Steem blockchain. Each card is encoded into the blockchain and serves as a digital asset, which is incredibly secure and cannot be copied. Players use their cards in battles and tournaments and can transfer their cards and gift them or sell them to others.

The Steem blockchain powers the fantastic social media platform Steemit, which you see before you. A free Steemit registration is included in each of the starter packs I am giving away.

How To Enter

To enter this giveaway, simply answer the question at the end of this post in one of the following ways:

  • Comment below this post with your answer
    Or...
  • Message Jon Warren#0001 on Discord with your answer

I am including the second option so that any readers who may not yet have an account will be able to enter the contest as well. I will randomly select one of the responses to receive the starter pack. Please use this as an opportunity to invite your friends to the Steemit platform and Steem Monsters.

Today's Scenario

You quickly drop your burning brand, while stepping to the side, away from the fire. The creature bursts through the underbrush, falls back onto its hind legs for a split second and then lurches forward, towards the shorter man, holding the lit brand.

The taller man scrambles to his feet, making eye contact with you for a moment. He recoils as he hears a cry of fear from his friend. Turning, he is just in time to see the jaws of the creature close on his friend's shoulder. You can see through the firelight, that the creature is covered in scars.

You take this moment to burst through the underbrush, away from the creature and the bandits. You hear a shout in the distance, presumably as the third man reappears.

Rain begins to fall. It pours down thick, blurring the forest ahead of you. As you run, you begin to shiver, realizing that neither you nor your friend are equipped for the cold.

After what seems like hours of running, you both stop to catch your breath. The forest floor is now covered in inches of water. You glance around and see a crevice in the rock face above you. You could take shelter here, try to find your way back to the cabin you saw, or try to find shelter further within the forest.

What do you do?

Thank you for participating! Simply comment below or message me on Discord with the answer and I will put your name into the pool of entries that will be randomly drawn in 24 hours. Also, thanks @elarca.play for your response, which was used in writing this post.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoy my content, please upvote and leave a comment, and if you'd like to see more, please follow and resteem! I appreciate all the kind words, advice, and interesting responses. This has been really fun and I've enjoyed chatting with you guys!

Sort:  

I don't go back to the cabin for fear of the beast. But I don't stay in the cave either because if the water already covers my feet, I could be in a creek, and if the water increases because of the storm we could die. I continue towards the forest in search of a better option.

Going back to the cabin is very risky, the creature must be looking for us if it is still alive, so I prefer the safety of the rock, he takes my advice and hides with me, is very unlikely to get us there and if he does, then he will not be able to enter through the narrow entrance. Besides, we can share together the heat we have left, alone we could die, I know he is a bandit but it is my option to survive.

I rest for a while and my nerves increase, I feel like I hear footsteps around me, but maybe it's paranohia, when I wake up I see both sides very well, I know it's daytime, despite the dark sinister undergrowth that I can see some reflections around me.

I try to go out, but I see the creature come, I panic and I remain silent thinking that we do not know that we are here, but has chased us by the aroma all night and tries to enter the rift, is very large, so it tries to open the rift with its claws What do we do? I have nothing to defend myself, my companion neither and I see how gradually with his claws is opening the rift.

Undoubtedly we take refuge in that crack that we have seen in the rock, since we must move away from the cold of the rain and the night, we will have already lost the beast by the water that has accumulated in the ground of the forest what helps to cover our trail and for the moments we will be safe while we are refugees.

Our best option is to take refuge in this place because with the rain and us wet another enemy appeared with which we did not count and could easily end our lives, "I mean the cold". It is best to take refuge, take advantage of the fact that we have distanced ourselves from the beast and the bandits, rest, and recover strength. Also wait for the rain to go and with it the dangerous cold to be able to go out and save our lives.

To increase our temperature we try to light a fire but without success since all the trunks are wet and it is impossible to light them, our most viable option is to use our internal heat to warm each other, leaving aside the machismo and just thinking about saving our lives.


Thank you very much for this initiative, there should be more people willing to help like you.

While taking refuge, decide that it is too late to continue your journey, every time the forest is darker and denser, there is not much you can do in those conditions. So he spends the night and prepares the next morning to continue entering the forest. They know that they return the beast may be waiting for them.

Due to the accumulated fatigue and not being equipped against the cold, entering beyond the forest without knowing if you find refuge is very risky, so the best option would be to take refuge here in the crevice of the rock to recover energy, my friend and I will be alert to any threat that approaches ...

I climb with my friend to the rock, which is above us with the little energy we have left we take refuge to grab a little heat, we hug because we know it is the only way to grab heat faster. We know that when the ground is covered with water the monster has lost the trace of us nor its smell could detect us because the environment is dense. Despite the terrible night at dawn we know that we are already a little out of danger we see around the rock carefully and everything is clear, we return home to tell the anecdote that happened to us.

Hi, @spacecadet1!

You just got a 1.09% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

@spacecadet1 happy to writing in this contest and see our response be part of the story <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98