25 Days of Christmas: Day NinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Welcome fellow Steemians! This is the ninth entry in my "25 Days of Christmas" giveaway series, in which I will be giving away a Steem Monsters starter pack each day till Christmas! All are welcome to participate. We had ten entries yesterday. It's been great getting feedback on the posts and I've enjoyed reading your responses!

Welcome to Steem Monsters!

Steem Monsters is a decentralized trading card game, built on the Steem blockchain. Each card is encoded into the blockchain and serves as a digital asset, which is incredibly secure and cannot be copied. Players use their cards in battles and tournaments and can transfer their cards and gift them or sell them to others.

The Steem blockchain powers the fantastic social media platform Steemit, which you see before you. A free Steemit registration is included in each of the starter packs I am giving away.

How To Enter

To enter this giveaway, simply answer the question at the end of this post in one of the following ways:

  • Comment below this post with your answer
    Or...
  • Message Jon Warren#0001 on Discord with your answer

I am including the second option so that any readers who may not yet have an account will be able to enter the contest as well. I will randomly select one of the responses to receive the starter pack. Please use this as an opportunity to invite your friends to the Steemit platform and Steem Monsters.

Today's Scenario

Giving a glance towards the darkening sky, you slip down the path to the right, approaching the sounds of merriment slowly. You can now see firelight flickering across the road ahead.

You slip into the treeline and closer to what you can now see is a campfire, with several people sitting around it. Three men are seated by the fire, roasting what appear to be chickens, over the center. A tall blonde haired man jabs one of the others with his elbow and says "...that farmer sure didn't see us coming. Did you see the expression on his face when he opened the door to this crossbow?" The men laugh as the speaker patted the crossbow lying behind him.

A shorter dark haired man in ragged padded clothing stands up and heads down the path you were walking a short moment ago. "I'll be back in a few minutes, I gotta answer Nature's call." The other two men chuckle and focus on the sizzling meat.

You hear a twig snap, not more than ten feet behind you. What do you do?


By the way, if you haven't caught on, I will follow the decision that the majority of commenters pick. If there's a tie, I'll just randomize it.

Winner!

Congratulations @madefrance! You are the ninth recipient of a Steem Monsters starter pack!

Thank you for participating! Simply comment below or message me on Discord with the answer and I will put your name into the pool of entries that will be randomly drawn in 24 hours.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoy my content, please upvote and leave a comment, and if you'd like to see more, please follow and resteem! I appreciate all the kind words, advice, and interesting responses. This has been really fun and I've enjoyed chatting with you guys!

Sort:  

...I turn stealthy, attentive to the next noise. My hands slide to my right to take a robust branch that is here, but without looking away from the possible threat.
You hear again the creaking of another branch and I begin to think that it may be the man who went to fulfill the "call of nature" setting me up in ambush.
My body tightens and my sight sharpens as it becomes accustomed to the total darkness of the forest, but I only see a sinuous shadow without a definite, static and mysterious form.
I still can't see traits of humanity in the shadow, there are no eyes to distinguish or form of limbs that would make it easier for me to know who was hitting me. But there I was!
I felt a warm liquid run slightly through my hand and it was when I noticed that it was hurting me by squeezing the branch so tightly.

Thanks for the opportunity!

Great response. Very well written!

I sharpen my sense of hearing, how I can climb the first branch of the tree that supports me and I wait stealthily from a better angle

I would turn carefully, I know that the man who went to make pee is not, because he followed the path that I had followed, sure is the farmer who went to hide, I would go with him to see and we would make some plan against those evildoers.

The first thing I would look for is to surround the house and hide in the bushes, with the intention that the storm would make them run away from the crossbow. Regardless of the rays or the rain, I would run and look for the crossbow and with the help of some sharp object that the farmer has hidden outside his farm, we would run from it, and then hide from the rain.

Surely my body would be paralyzed for a moment by the fear I would feel when imagining that the man who left the group is behind me, I would expect to hear a second snap of the branch to see if it is getting closer, if so I would look for the form to evade it in order to save my life and try to get out of that situation safe and sound.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE INITIATIVE!!

Hi, @spacecadet1!

You just got a 1.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89