You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Setting smaller goals for the game I'm working on

in #gaming6 years ago

I made few games when I was in middle school, but 2 of them had very simple 2D graphics and the third one and last one was available only in text version. No one except few nerds liked it because there was too much of reading lol Anyway, I had a lot of fun working at this one.
Development of the game based on text and ASCII art instead of graphics gave me limitless way of creating every thing what could happen. Especially, that I suck at graphics and 3D modelling.
What's more, I had additional limits which I wasn't able to avoid. I was using very old and shitty PC for development and all of my games were available only as a homebrew games for Sony PSP - 333 MHz and 32 MB of RAM memory... I have to buy PSP again one day to have some more fun with it... or maybe I will invest in Arduino or something to build my own console? :O That would be dope af XD

Sort:  

Sounds cool. I've done some experiments with 2D myself, but I'm not good enough at drawing 2D to make anything decent like that, big fan of the old point and click adventures though.

Got to be careful with making a console, didn't work out too well for Steam, I had high hopes for that too, would have been nice to get people more interested in developing for Linux (SteamOS). I think the big problem with that console is that the market it was targeting already knows how to build their own gaming rigs. And it's a seriously hard market to get into, Microsoft had to sell the original Xbox at a loss just to get their foot in the door. Would be really cool to build one running emulators though, just for personal use I mean, built a small media center box like that for MythTV with a Mini-ITX back in the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54843.49
ETH 2298.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31