Frostpunk: I Can Bet You Are An Awful Person!

in #gaming6 years ago

Imgur
Source


What Is Frostpunk?

Frostpunk is a game developed by 11 Bit Studios in Warsaw. This developer is very well-known from their previous game which became a global hit - yes, I am talking about This War Of Mine. Frostpunk is also very difficult game in which you will have to build a city and take responsibility for your citizens. What is more, the game will give you a lot of ethical decisions that you will have to make.

Gameplay

You begin the game with one huge generator which is turned off. All you have to do is giving tasks to your citizens, this is the most crucial moment of the gameplay.


There are four basic resources:

  • Coal - it will let you warm your village up,
  • Wood - it will let you build new things, do research and send scout groups to discover new places,
  • Iron - it will let you build new things and do research,
  • Food - you have to feed your citizens with something, right?


    It does not seem to be that difficult, but you have to remember about three more indicators:
  • Discontent - you have to keep it as low as possible,
  • Hope - you have to keep it as high as possible,
  • Temperature - this indicator shows the temperature of the environment, it will keep falling down slowly, so you have to remember about building new Steam Cores to warm up the city.
  • How To Get Banished?

    When I have heard about Frostpunk for the very first time, I have read that you have to make difficult choices and you have to plan everything. I thought that the author of that review was exaggerating, this is the main reason why I decided to give it a shot.


    My first gameplay was four hours long and I have not even made it through the first week. I wanted to be good and fair leader who thinks twice before making his mind, but something went wrong. I divided people into few groups of workers, so I could send one group to Coal Pile, one group to Wooden Crates, one group to Iron Wreckage and one group to work in Cookhouse. It turned out there is too many people for the Cookhouse, so I split this group in half and send 50% of people to build tents for the upcoming night. Everything was going fine until very first problem with resources appeared, I decided to send children to work. Unfortunately, it did not help for very long time because I had the next problem with resources very soon and I had problem with people who started dying due to a frostbite and serious illnesses. At this point, my citizens asked me if they can make a funeral... I had two possibilities:

    • Build graveyard to bury dead bodies - every single funeral will make people stop working for few hours,
    • Dig a snow pit and throw there dead bodies.

    Believe or not, but I did not even bat an eye when I was making this decision. We were running out of resources, everyone was angry at me because I made kid who got injury to stay at work and I started adding more water to soup so we could feed more people. This is why, my citizens had to throw dead bodies of their friends and families to the snow pit. It was one of long series of small mistakes I made. The next step to my banishment was the fact that I made cooks add sawdust to food to make meals fuller and to save the most precious resource. People decided to banish me out of their city, when I decided to turn off the Steam Cores to save some coal and close down the Medical Post to make engineers working in Hunters' Hut to get more food.

    Decisions And Their Effects

You can make a lot of decision by signing new laws in Book of Law, but you are not limited to only this because there also are random events like protective mother who wants her child to stay at home instead of going to work. Every single decision like sending X of people to coal mine and Y of people to sawmill or signing a new law will have its own effect which might appear instantly or even after few weeks in the world of game.

Game Of Details

11 Bit Studios took care of every single small detail in this game. People have to go through snow to start gathering resources and if you decide to zoom in, you can see a lot of details of buildings.

Sound

I had to prepare part of my post about the most important ting to me - sound. You can hear slow, dramatic and soft music being played on string instruments. Music does not become boring even after few hours of playing. There is also a lot of great sound effects like screams of people, sounds of working machines and wind. If you decide to use good headphones, you can feel like you were there - in the middle of snow...

Summary

I can recommend this game to everyone who want to try being a good leader and I can bet that you will fail. I stopped playing it and I still ask myself if I am really that bad person... The only disadvantage I found is the fact that if your city is very big, it is difficult to find the building you are looking for.

Final Grade: 9/10




Sort:  

I want to try this game.
I think it's cool.

Believe me, it is really cool. I got instantly addicted :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54