GameDev Project: Dark Souls Retro JRPG

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Taking a step away from my usual #snarkstash and #steempoweredstories content, I'd like to write about something I've been thinking a lot about lately.

As an enthusiast of good game design, I find the From Software's Soulsborne series fascinating ( this includes Demon Souls, the Dark Souls trilogy, and Bloodborne).

I've spent countless hours analyzing game design concepts, reading postmortems, and listening to podcasts deconstructing everything from level design and enemy placement to boss patterns, sound design, and storytelling.

And as often happens, all this made me want to design something myself; take those concepts and test whether they could work in a game of a different kind and scope:

A Souls-inspired SNES-era JRPG.

What I'm thinking is a mix of early Zelda and Final Fantasy games, reinforced and enriched with the concepts that make the Soulsborne series so special among the scores of games that have been produced in the last decade.

So, I'm turning to you for feedback. Yay or nay?

What would you expect from such a game? What would you want to see?

Leave your replies below, and resteem so that this post can reach more people and create a meaningful conversation!



Image Source
Image Source

Sort:  

I want to see the gameplay. :X

There's not really much to see yet, but that's kind of the reason I'm posting this. What would you like to see? What kind of game do you have in mind?

That's just it, this post makes me want to see it without any reservations of what it might be. It immediately conjures vivid images but nothing is concrete. It makes me want to be spoonfed something. lol

I was considering writing a series of logs where I illustrate and discuss design ideas decisions. Keep an eye on the #snarksouls tag if you want, that's where I'll post anything relevant.

ah yes, good old pixelart :), also there is one that has interesting feel about it, its called "Salt and Sanctuary" its on steam it is darks souls but drawn.
It is interesting and fun game you should check it out, who knows maybe it will pop some ideas :)

I've checked Salt & Sanctuary, though I haven't played it extensively. That's a good example of how these design principles can be applied to different kinds of games - and metroidvanias are a great genre to try that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64