Retro NES Game Review: Gremlins 2 The New BatchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming2 years ago

When I mentioned to various people that I was going to be doing a NES review for the Gremlins 2 The New Batch game most peoples faces would light up and explain to me how at the time they enjoyed watching the movie.

I understand that for many the Gremlins movie is a favourite of theirs, I also remember watching the movie back in the day but not much else or in other words I barely remember a thing about the movie.

image.png


Source: All Images Are Captured From Gameplay


It's been highly recommended by almost everybody that I re-watch the movie before writing the review but I'm thinking the opposite.
This is because I'm not here to review the movie, I'm here to solely give you my opinion on playing the NES game that is based from the film, I don't want my opinion tinted from my thoughts on the movie.

But just a warning I would say that from what I can remember I didn't exactly hate or dislike the movie but if it was on I'd skip to watch something else.

Anyway what is the NES Gremlins 2 The New Batch game? Actually describing what it is right from the get go is super exciting.
This is because shockingly for the time it seems like Gremlins 2 was really way ahead of itself for where gaming was going.
Back in the day many players only dreamed of what games would be like if you was actually able to walk around in a actual virtual "world" in all directions.

See if you was to ask me to guess what kind of game would Gremlins be on relese I would tell you a 2D side scrolling platformer, so basically like most NES games.
But that would be terribly wrong, some could argue that what you see in Gremlins is basically the future of 3D gaming at it's very beginning.
Before you get too excited no NES Gremlins 2 The New Batch is not a 3D game on the NES but instead it's a top down view where your character Gizmo, you can move and attack in all directions but it's stays still as a true platformer.

Now there are other NES games that do play like this let's say for example Metal Gear, Zelda, Little Ninja Brothers etc but none so far that I have played is this fluid or captures the true essence of a great top down platforming action like in Gremlins 2 The New Batch.
Just for this alone the game is a complete gem and I will say it again wayyy ahead of it's time, this is what many Mario fans could only dream about for the future but they had to wait a really long time for such a thing.
If you was lucky enough to of played Gremlins 2 The New Batch at the time you was already playing the beginning of the future of gaming.

image.png

Ok let's step back a bit and see what else is going on according to the cut scenes.. YES this game actually as cut scenes and for it's time they are probably the most proper cut scenes I have seen on a NES game.
Sure they are very short but they look amazing for it's time.
So like I was saying just from looking at the cut scenes it looks like Gizmo as been released from he's cage with a mission to take down the Gremlins.

You then begin the game with throwing tomatoes as your weapon, you use this against rats, bats and big tomatoes as you navigate the level and get used to it's platforming.

By defeating enemies you earn a currency, these can then be used to make purchases from the wizard that you meet a long the way.
He can be found during most levels except you wont see him during a boss fight.

image.png

Yes there are also bosses in this game just as you would traditionally find in games, thankfully most of these bosses are not too difficult.

While the bosses are not too difficult the levels sure do get ridiculously tough, get ready to put your skills to the test from Stages 2-2 onwards!
But with enough practise the game is relatively fair however you must make your sure the controller your using is very on point if not your going to die a lot this is especially because I have noticed on certain jumps you seem to fall down to your death before actually being on the edge.
The same can be said for some of the lava, basically you fall before what looks like the edge where traditionally you should be able to jump from the edge.
I also found some jumps to be unresponsive which could be due to a landing animation I'm not sure but it did cause much frustration a long with the edge issue.

image.png

You can buy balloons from the wizard, these will help you skip certain section when you fall, I would recommend doing your best not to use them until later in the game, but trust me that a lot easier said then done as you don't have a choice on when to use the balloons.

The weapons in Gremlins 2 The New Batch are actually awesome and they initially feel overpowered, my favourite being the bow and arrows.
I won't spoil the rest of them but I felt the last one was a bit of a down grade haha compared to what I had previously, unfortunately you can't pick your weapon.

I would say the NES Gremlins 2 The New Batch as some great music, the title screen already displays this and play the game enough and you will be humming it's catchy tune, definitely better music compared to most.

What would of made this game even better would be some kind of overworld where you could be free to explore a little on your own and pick which sections to want to play but we have to be thankful for what this game as given us which at the time was a taste of the future.

image.png

And for that reason I will be keeping this game in my collection and do recommend playing it, as many at the time could only imagine what it would be like to have a Mario game like this or Megaman, Castlevania etc.
I mean who would of thought that the NES Gremlins 2 The New Batch a movie licence game was so far ahead of it's time, talk about a strange and surprising hidden gem.



image.png

January 2023 Month Results For #club5050 !!

image.png


Always do your own due diligence the above is only a opinion.

Secretly win a %70 Upvote with over 31400 SP From Me
You can win the Upvote by simply doing ALL 3 steps below..

  1. Upvote the post at %100
  2. Write on the comments box "Done" along with..
  3. Share with us a image of any video game you are playing now or the last one you played.
    To enter you must have no less than 12SP, there will only be "one winner" any edited post, complainers or trouble makers are automatically disqualified, hurry you have 22 hours for placing your valid entry!

Our Ship Is Now Octuple Dolphin Powered 🏆


Source: giphy.com




badgessteemit05102022.jpg


author portfolioU4ZCp8uHZ93yF22p2ypNuVM78E04052018.jpg

So if you like this page I need you guys to do me 2 easy things.

1.First please upvote this page.
2.And secondly don't forget to follow me below.

Also since votes don't always = $ and if you want to see more you can send me Steem Power Tips to @simonjay to help support me, not only me but also support the value of the STEEM currency as I have not powered-down a single time in 6 whole years.


[Follow Me Here @simonjay

Sort:  

Done
Steem will go up

🏆 Winner

Done
Steem will go up

Done
Steem will go up

Done
Steem will go up

Done
Steem will go up

Done
Steem will go up.

Done
Steem will go up

Done
Steem will go up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49