Ragnarok Online PH: The MMO Nostalgia

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

On June 21st, Ragnarok Online Philippines opens its doors once again to the Filipino gaming community. I am sure a lot has heard of the game that debuted way back August 31, 2002. And surely, it was THE MMORPG that took the Philippines by storm at that time. Even though we had to top-up the game in order to play, it surely caught the attention of many different gamers, from the younger generation (I was a highschool kid at that time) to college students (guildmates) and even those in the working class (never thought my computer teacher at that time played the game).

So yes, Ragnarok Online was massive back then. The question now would be, would it be the same as it was now? With the evolution of so many games, we are yet to wonder, why would I still be playing this game at this point in time? I have come across the epitome of MMORPG, World of Warcraft. I have played RF Online in PH Servers, Guild Wars 1 and 2. All of those have better graphics, better content, better stories to tell than Ragnarok Online. So why play the game?

Nostalgia, the same reason why people are still playing the first Crash Bandicoot on Twitch Stream. The same reason why people still play Super Mario Speedruns. The same reason why people wanted to play Diablo 3 in the hope that it would bring them the same feeling Diablo 2 gave them.


Or an even better example would be as to why Blizzard remade the 1998 game, "Starcraft" with the addition of enhanced graphics and 4k resolution but with the same mechanics, maps, same everything. Source

So yes, Ragnarok online is back and I believe people are playing it out of Nostalgia. Would it be a game that can be restored to how it was a decade ago? I don't know, I don't think so. But just thinking about downloading the game and playing it, leveling a character up, already makes my fingers itch already.

So before I jump to the bandwagon, here are my expectations that the GameMasters need to do in order for this to be better the 2nd time around:

  • Bot Protection - Yes, we need to play the game and play with real people.

I was a botter once, and it was a very easy thing to do. But me and my friends always recalled the felling of getting the character to Max lvl yourself. It was ridiculously difficult, time consuming but it was extremely satisfying. And it all were made easy with Bots. But I think this time around, it would be better to getaway from BOTs all the way, with the computers we have nowadays, a single computer could run 100-200 bots easy (I maybe exaggerating here, I did not do the math).

  • Free to play - Topping up at that time burned my wallet as a student.

Now that I am a professional, I wouldn't want to pay for a game that I intend to play casually. Let alone the fears of it going down the drain and fast.

  • Updates - Ever since it was made, it has gotten to a point where it had a series of "expansions" already. Where classes have transcended multiple times. I hope that they would be able to set a timeline for this and make sure that they do stick to it.

-In game puchases - The Ragnarok franchise needs to earn. So yes, I agree with them having these in game purchases ready. Is it necessary? I don't know, I have not checked it out TBH.

-Increase XP gain? - As i mentioned, It was tiring, tedious, much of a chore to get to level up a character to MAX. So yes, please have this experience boost.

That's that for my expectations for "Ragnarok Online PH 2017". But does the thought of it give out the same feeling that it had when I was back in high school? hell yeah!

So the moment I am finished with this Blog, my download is right about finished.

Img src 1,2,3,4,5,6

I would like to share my experience reliving the nostalgia of 2002 with Ragnarok Online. So please stay tuned by following me! If you enjoyed the post, please upvote and resteem!

Till next time!

Sort:  

steemwin.jpg

HOW TO GET IN THE PLAYER-POOL?

(Pay once - play forever - win multiple times !)
All you have to do is sending once 10 SBD to @steemwin for a lifetime daily chance to win!

Good post, Thanks for sharing

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed!

Thanks, please visit my blog and Support

I'll do! Thanks for dropping by! :)

Thanks

This comment has received a 0.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

I used to play ragnarok as a child.

I LOVE THIS GAME! :)

Such great and good memories.

I am happy you liked the content!

I'm glad to hear that the nation of the phillipines is playing a version of this game Ragnarok. I remember when it came out in 2002 or something like that and I always wondered what other countries they was where the game was big. I wish they'd make online surveys to show what nations games were/are played in, you know. Inquiring minds want to know about stuff t like that.

I agree with you. In fact that survey alone could entice more e-sports for even a lowly specc'd like Ragnarok.

Ah nostalgia, I think I will install it again after reading your post.

Yes, Nostalgia indeed.

I just played it on some free server and... nope I think I will just keep it in my memory at it is, and not try to play it.

Congratulations @shote.said! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i hope they also have it here in the Philippines, my daughter loves minecraft so much, shes been playing with it since she was 5 yrs old. Thank you for this video ill show this to my daughter to inspire her more to play

But they do. This was re-launched back in June 21st.

https://www.ragnarokonline.com.ph/main

There are currently 2 servers so you get to choice either of the 2. But mind you, there is a whole lot of population even if the game has not reached a month.

Enjoy!

Nice, upvoted and followed :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

I'm a wee bit bothered that they are calling it ROPH and not pRO like it used to. but that's just me.
I considered playing it again, but I already have an account on iRO that I rarely open now, plus I have no friends that are interested in playing with me :(
so even with the hype, even if I love the game to this day, these were still not enough reasons for me to bother playing the game, for now at least.

Yea, I agree with you. As I have highlighted in the post, this is basically a retro game already. That's I don't really have high hopes for it. It's just a nostalgia I am revisiting in the hope to come across another game.

But if friends do come around, then maybe, just maybe, we get to have a little more fun just like old times aye?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56