Math + Smartphone: 1 + 5 = An Average Joe's Review?

in #gaming7 years ago

So a couple of weeks back I had to ask the steemit community to help me select a new smart phone.

https://steemit.com/gaming/@shote.said/crwdsrcng-help-me-choose-a-new-smartphone

Having busted my LG V10, I knew I am bound to get a replacement someday. And so I have...

Meet my Oneplus 5..

20170902_104354.jpg

I have to be honest, the OP5 is really my bias. And when I said if I only had enough dough to buy it right away, I would. And just to start things off, I have been using this phone for a week, I have no regrets still. So that is pretty great so far.

I am not a tech reviewer, let alone a smart phone reviewer. (Not yet, I am trying to learn the ropes though) But I would like to discuss why I chose the OP5 and if it has lived up to my expectations after making it my daily driver.

First and foremost the specifications:

5.5-inch Optic AMOLED display @ 1920 x 1080 pixels, 401ppi
2.5D Corning Gorilla Glass 5
2.45GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 octa-core CPU
Adreno 540 GPU
6GB / 8GB RAM LPDDR4X
64GB / 128GB UFS 2.1 Dual Lane storage
16MP f/1.7 Sony IMX398 + 20MP f/2.6 2x telephoto rear cameras w/ dual LED flash
16MP front-facing camera
Dual-SIM (Nano)
LTE-A Cat12
Wi-Fi 802.11ac, 2×2 MIMO
Bluetooth 5.0
NFC
GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou
USB Type-C (USB 2.0)
Fingerprint sensor
3300mAh battery w/ Dash Charge (5V 4A)
Oxygen OS based on Nougat
152.7 x 74.7 x 7.25 mm
http://www.gsmarena.com/oneplus_5-8647.php

Is it up to size?

So the main intention of having a much larger phone (but not too large) is to be able to browse better, play Hearthstone better, better ergonomics and use versus my fat fingers. Maybe throw in a bit of movies here and there.

The size of the Oneplus 5 has served me well, a 5.5 incher was not as big as the LGV10 but it if not side by side, the .2 inch difference was not really noticeable.

20170902_103017.jpg

Is it up to speed?

Combined with the internals, the Qualcomm SD 835 and the 6GB RAM of the 64GB Variant makes everything smooth and fast. I had it side by side with @smb14's Samsung Galaxy S8 - the fingerprint scanner's speed goes to the OP5 being the faster of the two, let alone other applications being faster to the OP5 as well.

20170902_103944.jpg

How's the display?

OP5's OPTIC Amoled display at 1080p to me is pretty much on the upside. Everyone is on QHD already, why does OP5 settle for 1080p right? We would say it does not make sense, but here is my take on this. In the naked eye, would you see the difference in pixels? The only time I would say my screen is half-assed if you put it side by side with a display like the Galaxy S8 - but I am sure, most of the time, you wont be using it side by side each other.

20170902_102856.jpg

How's the battery?

Another thing to note with the OP5's display is that it saves battery life. Some notable reviewers would say it has an impact, some would say it doesn't, but I would say it has.

Please check this video of the time I forgot my Powerbank/Charger/Cord to the office. When I noticed the situation I am in, I simply took a vlog of the moment I left for work and when I got home to check the battery life. Video was taken 9:07PM.

You can also check to see the Front Camera Video performance in the dark see how it fairs.

(I do not do this much do I?)

I am extremely sleepy, this was a double purpose video so that I could stay up while driving.
https://www.youtube.com/upload

I am a nub videomaker.

How're the Cameras? (Not 1 but 2.. how unique)

Out of all comments reviewers have on the phone, it was the camera specifically the telephoto lens that took the hit. I agree with them to some extent, having been with the LGV10 for a year and a half and having experience with my wife's LGV20, I would say that LG cameras were better.

You can check out some of the pictures I took here.

Some Introduction:
IMG_20170902_104800.jpg

Some Korean Barbeque:
IMG_20170901_191123.jpg

KBBQ using the Telephoto Lens:
IMG_20170901_191155.jpg

Naengmyon - Korean Cold Buckwheat Noodles (I don't know why I just had this dish this year but it is awesome!):
IMG_20170901_185530.jpg

Selfie with @smb14:
IMG_20170828_230507.jpg

Morning View where I work:
IMG_20170829_052601.jpg

My Kid with some Bokeh shots:
IMG_20170826_104717_Bokeh.jpg

IMG_20170826_104539_Bokeh.jpg

Telephoto Kimchi Bokeh:
IMG_20170901_190933_Bokeh.jpg

A Closeup with my X-Wing:
IMG_20170902_103350.jpg

I would like to note that the OP5 has an EIS (Electronic Image Stabilization) versus the OIS (Optical Image stabilization) which is found on most flagship phones. OIS being the better of the 2. Try to check the Video Performances with my son in the playground.

Final Words?

• I have never had a phone this fast, the LGV10 cannot compare to the speed not even my wife's LGV20.
• Fingerprint was as quick as it was accurate.
• The battery life (3300mAh) was amazing let alone pairing it up with a dash charger capable of charging your phone to +50%++ in 30 minutes, every gamer's dream I guess?
• Camera I would say so-so. I am not a good judge of camera performance really. But if I were to compare it to my V10 and wife's V20, I would say this is slightly lower performance than they had.
• The OP5 looks like a smaller Iphone 7 plus. It may be an issue for some but even though I am an android user, the Iphone 7 looks sexy for me.

20170902_103153.jpg

• Despite being a 1080p display, I do not have qualms over it. It serves me well and right how I want it to be.
• Ergonomics, I bought a SPIGEN case right at the start because I have a 3 year old kid. I feel that without the case, it is thin, feels premium yet very vulnerable and is prone to slipping. But I did not mind the SPIGEN Case I bought right at the very start.

20170902_103300.jpg

That's it about the OP5, I hope that you liked it as much as I loved making the review about it. Locally the OP5 is priced at PHP26,490 around USD530. This is priced differently overseas at USD479 on their actual website https://oneplus.net/.

If you have plans to get them locally, you can drop by Digital Walker or maybe even pay Widgetcity.com.ph a visit.

Again I am not a tech reviewer, I need to learn how to be though. If you have inputs for me, please do leave me a comment down at the comment section below.

Follow me, upvote and resteem if you liked the content!

And again.. Till next time!

Sort:  

Great. Thanks for sharing. I vote for you and begin to follow you. And Resteemed...

Thanks alot.

Congratulations @shote.said! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81