🤣 A New Year, A New PC Build....Gaming Like A Champ Now 😎

in #gaming5 years ago

20181230_030602.jpg

Welcome to 2019 everyone, lets hope this is the year we see massive increases in Crypto!!!

Today I wanted to share the upgrades I did on my main system. The last month or so my i7 7700k build been bugging out with constant BSOD's. So I ended up deciding to finally break down and call it time to upgrade.

I present to you my journey towards the new i9 9000k build...and this time my friends, i am really happy with the outcome.

It All Starts With The Right Case

20181227_223309.jpg

Pretty sure my family thinks I want ape-shit nuts when the package for my Corsair Obsidian 1000d Case showed up to the front door. Pictures online does not do this case justice, this thing is massive...almost as tall as my TV Stand for my #65 inch OLED. But this is what I was aiming for in my new setup, a case that has enough room for constant work and one that I can build in over and over.

The Corsair Obsidian 1000d is so worth the price tag, its solid, the smoked tempered glass has a really cool effect on lighting and best of all, I have room to be a little more aggressive with water cooling. Really good addition to this build and I think the case that will last for years to come.

Best part is the fan and radiator trays. I swear these need to be a standard in all cases after working with them. Makes things so much easier for installs and changing out. Win for Corsair on that one!

20181227_130709.jpg

Cable Management seems easier to work with on this case, though this is early on in this pic, got a little messier later on but not bad seeing you can hide it with the doors lol

Overclocking Mobo Not For The Faint Of Heart

ExtremeBox.jpg

In my last build I had the Asus Maximus IX Formula, while I love the VRM cooling option, it was a finicky board sometimes for me. I think more or less though it was due to my love of overclocking things so I decided this time to go for the Asus Maximus XI Extreme z390 board.

I ended up pairing this board with the i9 9900k, I know the reviews are bad about the heat issues so I went with Silicone Lottery to get a pre-binned and delidded cpu from them. Clocks stable at 5ghz and right now running very cool. Mobo helps a ton with that, the phases on the EXTREME mobo seems very stable, so they seem to be a good combination.

20181227_130646.jpg

Early stages of the build, just when I got the PSU and MOBO in

Watercooling and Reusing My Asus GTX 1080ti OC Cards

20181227_221856.jpg

When it came to watercooling this setup, I had to keep my old loop for my GPUs. This mainly is due to the cost but it worked out very well. For the CPU with it being the i9 9900k, I ended up getting an Alphacool 420mm ut60 radiator. For the pump and reservoir I went with the EKWB Xres 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM and EKWB Velocity CPU Block.

So far this has been keeping temps down very well. At 5ghz with 1.31 volts, its running at an idle 34C which is not bad for a chip that should be running pretty hot. During stress testing I am getting on load about 69C at tops, which is okay for the overclock I am running.

20181229_010758.jpg

With GPU, Radiators installed

End Results Came Out Amazing!!!

20181230_030739.jpg

Though this build isn't actually completed, I had to save money on it and wait for a full custom loop on the GPUs, I will say I am very happy right now with the way this thing runs and looks. Plans are to add 2 480 Rads in the front, probably get another EKWB pump and res, then I think I am good. Fans of course, so many damn fans to buy lol.

Anyways thats the build, and here are a few more pics of it completed. Let me know what you think in the comments.

20181230_031308.jpg

20181230_030657.jpg

~sflaherty

Follow me on Steemit @sflaherty

If you want to see how this runs, I began streaming on Twitch @

I also restream to Mixer @ https://mixer.com/bringer0death

Sort:  

very nice build.
but with all the fans, how loud dose it get?

Actually its not to bad, I got the Corsair ML fans, the magnetic levitation ones so its pretty quiet. Plus its all tempered glass on this case, helps so much with the sound. Thing about the i9 9900k, even with delid it runs kind of hotter than most chips, so you have to really have above standard cooling on it to overclock. Thats the only issue I have with it but I conquered I think, well I hope, keeping a huge eye on this lol.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Dear sflaherty:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Congratulations @sflaherty! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98