You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 10 Best Upcoming Games of 2018 and Beyond

in #gaming7 years ago

I frankly don't care much for the console exclusive, but I'll bet they're fine games. But Cyberpunk 2077 is definitely a game I'm eagerly waiting for. Also, I'll try the new David Cage game, I really liked Fahrenheit, at least the first half, before it put on a tinfoil hat towards the end.

Sort:  

Yeah, Fahrenheit went completely nuts for the last third of the game, it could be so much more if it remained grounded in reality.

Cyberpunk 2077 definitely, and very curious about Life is Strange 2. The rest of them will surely be great/good enough to earn my $$$ :)

Cyberpunk is probably the most anticipated game for me by far and can't wait to see what CDPR have in store. Judging by how good The Witcher 3 was (despite some flaws), I am hopeful. Fahrenheit was really good in the beginning imo, but yeah, the latter part of the game was just too out there. I would've hoped it was some medical and government / corporate conspiracy, not that mayan undead shit. As for Life is Strange, meh. Too SJW-y for me, though I have to say the first game is probably the only game with such heavy leanings in that regard that was actually enjoyable... except for the last episode, which kinda ruined everything before it.

Honestly, Life is Strange left me a bit cold during the first hour, so I had it sitting there for a while. Glad I returned to it, as the impactful moments were enough to compensate for some mild, filler scenes. I don't think it's SJW-ish, but I agree that Max can be a bit depressing with her banter. On the other hand, I liked how the final episode turned out, it got extremely dark and twisted. But the ending ruined every choice that came before...

Oh c'mon, it's so stereotypey. The fat girl that always gets bullied, the socially awkward has the best intentions, the loudmouth asshole with the heart of gold, the rich are always evil. That screams SJW crap to me. But, but, I will say that for once it's not too forced and it has an actual story behind it all, so it's quite enjoyable, unlike all the walking simulators SJWs make and revere. And yeah, her banter always going contrary bc ... I dunno ... just because, was annoying. I know teens are like that, but they will occasionally comply, lol. And regarding the last episode, it's not the fact that it got dark that I thought was bad, but the fact it got too supernatural and that segments in your mind was just awful in my opinion. I get what they tried to do, but it just didn't work at all. And of course, the last choice was just fluff. It is overall a good game, but the second season, looks cringey as hell. First was fun, the second, not so much.

The mind recap part was nice if it lasted a minute or so, but oh boy, did it stretch out for eternity! Too much of a good thing.

I get it that there are quite a few stereotypes, but in the end it kept me guessing as to what happened to Rachel. I could criticize that the devs didn't have the "balls" to screw things up for good (when Chloe found herself on a wheelchair, for example), and ended up returning to a safe reset. Too much traveling through photos in the last chapter, as well.

As for Before the Storm, I like the feel and the fact that it sheds some light on Rachel, but if there isn't some big twist saved for the third episode, I'll be very disappointed. I wanted something surprising, not the life issues of two teenage girls in love or whatever.

Yeah, the fact you learn more about Rachel is fine, but there's just too much teenage angst and cringe. It's not a bad game, but I think it's generally not that great either. The second season just doesn't appeal to me.

The first was good, they had some great ideas in it. But I think it overdid alot of the kid's drama in it, and yeah, the recap would've been fine if it was a short overview, but it was half the episode, so it ended up being shit. Again, overall a good game, I just think it's not that great as some people make it out to be. But it's definitely not the case as Gone Home, which was praised just as much, if not more, but was utter tripe.

The second season ramps up the teenage drama and girl love. I'm hoping for the twist to put some sense to it as a prequel...

Oh, Gone Home. Damn!...

I gave up on that one. After playing for over an hour and getting tired of looking at every object in every angle, trying to discover clues, I got fed up. I went into it knowing nothing besides the empty house, and was expecting something to go with the praise - some murder mystery, or even a horror backstory.

After giving up I discovered it had something to do with the girl leaving. Gone Homo, as someone said.

Holy crap, what a waste of a great house it was!

Yeah, it was utter garbage, like all these pretentious walking simulators. And I feel like the second season of Life is Strange is heading that way. Still a much better game, but meh ... just not my thing, I guess :)

I prefer games with complex puzzles and action, not teary romance. It has it's place, but I guess not a large chunk of my gaming library :p Here is a taste of my taste, if you're interested on seeing my take on games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68