Hitbox Smash Box. An Alt Super Smash Bros Controller?

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

What's up y'all. I have been reading more about gaming news recently so I am planning on posting a couple on mini-articles on interesting things that I come across. I also have a lot of pictures I still want to post, but I wanted to take a little break the last couple days of the vacation. On top of that I also have a secret project I am working on in the moment.

But anyways, let's talk about this thing that is in the title of my article. The Hitbox alternative controller for all Super Smash Bros.

When I first read about this I was honestly pretty surprised. People who play Super Smash Bros are very attached to their GameCube controllers. When SSB4 came out for the Wii U you might remember that the GameCube controllers and Wii U adapter capable went pretty fast in stores.

At first glance to me it looks impractical, and slower than what a GameCube controller is capable of. There really hasn't been any company in the past to produce another controller for SSB series since it first has to accepted into the tournament scene. This product has been out for a year now, and I believe it is allowed in the SSB4 scene, but Melee tournaments seem less quickly to adopt it.

Having a new looking controller like this creates more questions that you might think.

  • Who is allowed to produce and sell the controllers?

  • Can a person create a controller that only he has which would give him a competitive edge?

  • Do these controllers interfere with the current ruling?

  • This controller cost $200 (not including adapter). What if this becomes the best controller? The entry point for new players suddenly becomes an extra $200.

These questions create complications if this controller is accepted on the scene. I think this controller however should be allowed. It does not seem to give a really good competitive edge above the standard GameCube controller.

There is one thing about this design that makes me think it might be the start of a solution to a real problem. The standard GameCube controller is not good for your hands. Your hands are not meant to practicing Melee all of the time. For anyone how has played SSB you know how many inputs at one time are need to move fluidly across a stage. I think the future there might need to a controller like this to put less stress on players hands. I know for sure I could not play Melee at a professional level because I already take lots of notes while studying and play piano. If I played Melee at professional level I think my hands would die!

Alright so right now I think this controller is not going to be a success. It has not really became very popular over the last year, and has become more of an item to mess around with in the past year.

What do you guys think about it? All pics taken from Hitbox website.

Let me know in the comments down below! Thanks for upvoting, commenting, and reading!

  • Schubes
Sort:  

At UltimaCorp we like to find and support worthy contributions to the community. Please accept the upvote we have given you!

We represent STEEMPUNK-NET, the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. We hope to meet you on our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena and test your skills against other Steemians.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet : [50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

Dude wtf are you talking about? the GC controller is the best controller ever. (jk.)

I think it's more of a "what you do with the controller" than "what the controller does to your hands" because I could have spent 100 straight hours playing on my gamecube and my hands wouldn't even cramp or sweat or anything at all. But MELEE does require strict and hard to execute inputs which could make hands or fingers hurt. I know that because I've played melee competitively (AND STILL DO) and I know how hard it is to get your wavedashes and wavelands right. (Don't even get me started on shine cancelled moves.)

Now o to the matter of the actual Smash Box, If i'm not wrong, the idea of this controller came out when Melee Professional Player, Hax$ (Hax Money) had a horrible accident where his tendons just popped while he was playing and he couldn't return to playing again on a Game cube Controller. Hax got in contact with another player called gravy and together they designed the smash box. That's how it came to be!

Both players actually use their designs on the Smash Box (Because they had an argument and decided to separate business from each other) on their competitive games during tourneys, but it's hard to see other players using these designs. At least I haven't seen them.

Great post dude, I love Smash related things appearing here on steemit!

Always cool to see more little genres get more and more attention here on Steemit. I think it shows the growth. I remember posting about gaming and no one cared really.

Also thanks for that extra info. I knew about Hax's injury, but I didn't connect the two. When I practice Melee for a while my hands to started to hurt. All those techniques like wavedashes and wavelands are tough on hands I find.

Gaming has really gotten far in steemit if you look back at how things started o:

Also yes. I remember playing Project M (A Brawl mod which consisted of adding Melee Mechanics to the game) and my friends and I started doing these sort of tournaments and all nighters and by the end of it, we were all cramping by the pain in our hands, lol.

But hey we got used to it and now all of our hands are buffed up (?)

This hitbox seems strange. I don't know how I feel about this... I always wasn't interested in Controllers designed for fighting games.

Who is allowed to produce and sell the controllers?

As far as I can see, it seems everyone is allowed to make them these days, if when I become big enough I'd like to have all the thrid party controllers I can.

Can a person create a controller that only he has which would give him a competitive edge?

They can, but why would it sell?... I also think these controllers won't be allowed for contests and the like. Who would play against someone who has a game breaking method to win?


Speaking on controllers, for now I aim for 8BitDo!

Yea and so far they have not really been accepted. I think they should have at least another option that is easier on the hands that is allowed, but if they only allow one option then that is kind of like a monopoly for that one controller company. So then how do you have an alternative option without having all kinds of options is kind of what I was trying to say.

While I agree that having one controller is kind of like Monoploy, these controllers are tested and proved to be comfortable for most people (many think the GameCube one is the best controller ever.)

From business point of view I kind of see why they don't allow other companies to make controllers for them, by I kind of wish that a company (Sony, Nintendo, Micro$oft) offers at least two completely different types for their systems. That way, people would use the most comfortable one for them.

wait, didn't that happen for N-Switch?

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Hitboxes take some getting used to. I know a couple people who swear by them, I'll stick to my fight stick.

Thank you for being a member of @dlivecommunity!


Want to become a member of @dlivecommunity?

Either send 1 STEEM for a 30 day membership or delegate 60,000 VESTS for a lifetime membership!
NEW: Join our curation trail on SteemAuto with at least 50% voting power to become a member for free!

Be sure to join our Fanbase!

Be sure to use #dlivecommunity on your streams for an upvote from @dliveupvote

Disclaimer:

@dlivecommunity is a community project built to help streamers navigate their way through @dlive and the overall Steem ecosystem. We are not affiliated with @dlive.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 18.27% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Schubes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Buenos día excelente post. Saludos desde Venezuela. Lo invito visitar mi blog hasta luego bendiciones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84