Mega Man X5 Masochist Challenge Part 08

in #gaming6 years ago

I forgot to include the second Dynamo fight in the previous part. So, uhh. Here it is. And no, I have nothing to say about it. I don't enjoy it, it's not interesting, it's not difficult. He's nice enough to have long enough pre-animations for his attacks that I can make and drink two cups of coffee before anything really happens in-between his attacks.

I dodge. I shoot. I win. The boss music is good.

Moving on to Dark Dizzy.

I've been saying it throughout this project that X5 is crowded with big and small tributes to all of the past games in the series.

And I guess the godawful slowdown during the first part of this stage is a tribute to X1-X3 on the Super Nintendo. Actually, rant time. I don't understand how Capcom - and I mean in general, not just with the Mega Man games - allowed for so much slowdown in their games. As in how did all of the slowdown through their releases pass playtesting so often.

In hindsight, it does make speedrun strats more entertaining.

In addition to the lag, the first area here is fairly glitched in general. A few runs were killed by spikes randomly appearing underneath me as I was standing on the moving platform.

But most of what I have to say about the stage here has to do with the second area.

And what I have to say is: fuck the second area.

Not in a bad way, though. But still. Fuck the second area. There's very little room to move, and the narrow spaces are absolutely riddled with enemies to the point where a flow chart is required in order to navigate through without taking a dozen hits every two steps.

It wasn't too infuriating, though, since the stage is fairly short. But the reset count was still relatively high. And every time I reset, I needed to endure the slowdown of the first area again.

Such fun.

Dark Dizzy himself balances out the difficulty of the stage itself by being one of the easiest bosses of the entire X series this side of Storm Eagle and Flame Mammoth.

Hard to even come up with anything to say. Doing Dark Dizzy no damage took a grand total of one try, and you're looking at in the video.

It's because he's so laughably easy that I find his echo projectiles that take forever to leave the screen to be so insulting. It's one thing to have a breather in a difficult boss fight. It's entirely different to have something you could do with your eyes closed being stretched out to last two decades instead of the half a minute the fight is supposed to take.

Oh, well. It's my challenge and my furnace. It's not like I have anyone to blame, really.

See you at Mattrex.

Sort:  

At first I was like "this is boring" but that second area was nuts, some clutch dodges, really good technical stuff. Been a while since I was on steemit or I would've been following. I just played through most of x4 with zero, I should buy x5.

Great to see you back. I haven't been super active myself, either. And thanks. This was definitely all about the second area. Not much going on in the first area.

I think the new X Collection is going to come out tomorrow, so there's that. It's for all the new consoles. I don't own a new console myself, so I won't be playing it, but it's there if you're interested.

I think it's for PC, too, though.

Isn't playing Mega Man X5 already masochist enough?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47