After Over 20 Years, I FINALLY Perform the "Iceless Jump" in Mega Man X!

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)


I DID IT!

I don't care if there are no people on the platform who even know what I'm talking about, I just wanted to post this.

I cracked at this the entire day. I took one break to make a small Steemit post and that was it.

In the world of Mega Man X speedrunning, "iceless" is the jump where you obtain the heart tank in Boomer Kuwanger's stage without using the Boomerang Cutter, or the charged up Shotgun Ice.

It's widely considered to be the hardest trick in the game.

I've done pretty much everything there is to do to Mega Man X since childhood, but iceless has always been something that has eluded me.

So, today I decided to dedicate the entire day to get this damn jump right, once and for all.

It's very hard to get right the first time around. Everything has to be pixel-perfect.

To start, one has to perform a precision jump right in the middle of the lower black line on the wall. After that, you do one full jump and hold it in, but release the d-pad. Don't hold left. This is harder than it sounds like because our muscle memory tends to automatically hold left on the d-pad because that's the instinctive thing to do.

You want to hold in the jump to when you're just above the upper black line, and then sort of come down to the middle of it, and then tap left on the d-pad to push yourself one frame to the left - and then immediately do a wall dash. The other tricky part is that you're supposed to keep pressing the jump button for slightly longer than it feels necessary because that gives X an additional frame of height.

Once you wall dash to the right, don't turn left, but instead tap the jump button again. This will cause X to autoturn and grab on to the ledge.

It's harder than it sounds like and takes precise and perfect timing to pull off.

I did it a few times after recording the video. What happens is you begin to get it down to muscle memory which then overrides the old instincts that caused the previous failures.

Damn, this makes me so happy.

Iceless is what separates the boys from the men.

And much respect to @apsu who told me he's been able to do this since childhood!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

haha never played this game but the jump looks hardcore hard!

Nice job. I've got a Legend of Zelda record. I should probably Steemit.

A record? Cool! What kind of a record?

I beat the original Legend of Zelda the 2nd world, with only 3 hearts. And I did it in 16 tries.

The video I made is on my youtube channel from 4 years ago. I will let you know when I make a post for it here on Steemit.

Here is the link to my post. Eventually I need to transfer this video to d.tube.
https://steemit.com/gaming/@hippie-witha-gun/i-am-the-legend-of-zelda-master-ultimate-3-heart-challenge

I'm wearing my Mega Man shirt right now
Congratulations

Congratulations on an awesome choice of shirt!

you do a very good job ... keep it so !!!

And here I was feeling accomplished for getting the Hadouken on the Armored Armadillo stage.

I though that was tricky and I didn't even know about this. Good job.

Thanks! :)

Yeah, a lot of people don't actually know about this. I'm not 100% convinced you're even "supposed" to be able to do this since it's almost a glitch that you need to take advantage in order to grab the ledge after the wall dash.

I could be wrong, though.

Congratulations on something utterly and completely useless, but gigantically, personally meaningful.

What an excellent use of a day.

What an awesome use of an entire day! Thank you!

My secret was being dumb enough without coming up with the ice trick.

I'm still in shock of how easy it could have been..

And of course what's most important - Congratulations!

That's really a respectable feat.

I guess I just always beat Boomer Kuwanger's stage last, so I had access to the charged up Shotgun Ice, so I just always used that.

I always had a feeling that this would be possible. I tried it occasionally, but was never able to get it. :)

This makes me want to break out the old NES and re-play megaman 1-4 with the good old 2 buttons!!

I just recently replayed Mega Man 1-6. It was fun. :)

What's your favorite?

I'd rank them something like this:

3
2
6
1
5
4

I never played 5 & 6 unfortunately but for the rest I think I would have to go:

2
4
3
1

As any old Atari game would say
"Congladruations"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50