A funny thing happened on the way to the Black Hole

in #gaming6 years ago

Its been a while since I played Elite: Dangerous, the game is huge and time consuming, but its also very beautiful if you stop to look around.

I picked up a mission to survey a Black Hole about 20,000 Light Years from Earth, thats a considerable distance, my current ship can jump between stars at a maximim of 30 Light Years, so its around 700 jumps there, and another 700 back... playing a few hours each day about four weeks to do. This isnt even a very large outing, some brave souls go much, much further.

Anyhow onto some pretty pictures, a nice ringed ice giant planet with the galactic core behind and three nebulae for company

Desktop Screenshot 2018.05.22 - 17.58.35.90.png

Then we fly through the inner set of rings and see some 'space potatos'

Desktop Screenshot 2018.05.22 - 18.02.11.59.png

Just before I got to this system, I encountered a really nice Neutron Star, spinning fast and with the cones of radation emitting from the poles, its possible to fly through them to get a jump boost, but dont get too close...

Sort:  

I bought it for the PS4 but couldn't get to grips with the docking. If they would give us docking computer from the start, it would be nice.

I played Elite to death in the 80's on the C64 and docking was not an issue then. Being older it seems has its downfalls.

Ha ha, I have read people having issues even taking off for the first time, so dont feel too bad!

One important thing with docking is you must be facing the right way around (docking bay number in front of you), or the landing pad will not accept you.

Yeah I played back in '85 on my Spectrum, the Thargoids killed me every time..

"Its been a while since I played Elite: Dangerous, the game is huge and time consuming, but its also very beautiful if you stop to look around."

I am just curious, how much hours do you currently have in the game?
I mean the gameplay time.
If you are playing the game on Steam, you can tell the exact number of hours you played this game.

I checked the Steam page for the game by the way and the price of the game is €24.99 EUR.
That's expensive compared to my monthly income in real life.
My monthly income in real life is currently only 68 480 HUF, which is currently (2018.05.22, 19:50 CEST) €216.26 EUR, because €1 EUR is currently 316.65 HUF.

I dont play this on steem unfortunately, according to the in-game stats I have been playing for just over 7 weeks, but that is over the space of several years. Of course as a kid I played the original on my ZX Spectrum

(not me in the clip)

Yeah Elite aint cheap, but its a lot of development in there, and you get all upgrades free of charge.

Ah. those were the days! I still have my old Speccy somewhere :)

Those squidgey keys were great for gaming...

That's interesting. I never had/used a ZX Spectrum.

As far as I remember, the first computer that I used was a Pentium 1, 133 MHz desktop computer with MS-DOS 6.22, Windows 3.11, Norton Commander and a lot of (mostly DOS) games.

I checked that Acornsoft released an Elite game for DOS in 1984, but I didn't played/tried it so far.
I will probably check/try it with DOSBox (DOS Emulator).

You could get magazines where you could copy code to write programs in BASIC but the ZX Spectrum had these crazy code keys you had to use. For example you could not just type GOTO you had to press the special combination of keys to insert the GOTO command, it was a bit of a nightmare :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99