No Man's Sky: Sick DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming3 years ago

I was going to go hiking the morning, but I felt sick so I decided to recover by playing No Man's Sky!

I had a lot of time on my hands, so I decided to see how much progress I could make toward the Galactic Center. As far as I am aware, there is nothing really interesting located at the Galactic Center but I think it would be a fun achievement, regardless.

I started nearly 700,000 Light Years (LY) from the Galactic Center. By the end of my session, I made 2100 LY progress. That's just over 0.3% progress. I will need over 300 similar gaming sessions to make it to the Galactic center. In other words: 6 years of Saturday gaming!

Instead, I think I will try using black holes to travel greater distances in a single bound. If I can knock a few hundred days off of my travel time, then it might just be worth attempting. Otherwise, it is certainly not worth trading every Saturday for the next six years!

My position indicator in the Galactic map did not change at all between the before and after screenshots. (below)

image.png
Before

image.png

After

Considering how many warps I may need to use, I decided to start farming Storm Crystals so I can have enough Warp Hypercores to get me to the Galactic Center. I now have a total of 470, each giving me 5 warps for a total of 2350. If we assume an average warp distance of 100 LY, then that's enough to get me a third of the way there without black holes. Hopefully, I can cut my total travel distance by more than a third using black holes.

Sort:  

My first thought was that this looks a lot like spore

I get Spore vibes, too, though maybe a little less cartoon-y.

Definitely a little less cartoony

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01