CONTRA: My favourite childhood game

in #gaming4 years ago

Contra cover.png
I have always been a big fan of arcade games since I was 5 years old. This love affair started by going to gaming parlor where you had to purchase gaming tokens which could be used in any of the games you like. I remember saving from my pocket money as much as possible and blow it up on arcade games with my friends over the weekend.

When I was 10, I received a gaming console as a birthday gift and these trips to gaming parlor stopped. Instead I will save my money to purchase cartridges of the new games which got launched regularly. My fondness for gaming did not end with my childhood and carried forward well into adulthood. It's just that with passing time the consoles evolved to Nintendo, XBox and Playstation. Games got more sophisticated from the basic pac man to 3D/ Virtual reality ones.

Despite the major evolution in gaming one game which has remained my all time favorite in Contra. It is a simple shooting gameplay but at that it seemed like a big deal. Me, my brother and neighborhood friends used to play it with serious dedication. Come to think of it the level of concentration I used to maintain while playing it was higher than what I put in for my current job.

My brother and I remembered each stage by heart and knew what to do at which level. We had clear distribution of responsibilities about who will go over the bridge and who will be killing the enemies in the river below. We knew who will be hitting the level boss from left and who will cover right side.

What really surprised me recently was that I had not played this game for over 15 years but found it at cousins place recently and decided to give it a shot. I was shocked to see that I still remembered how to play it. I guess just like once you learn swimming or cycling it stays with you for life. Same is for games you love, you never forget them :)

Cheers,

SamBTC


If you liked this article and would be interested in more articles related to gaming do give my account in Uptrennd a visit. If you still don’t have an Uptrennd account then feel free to use the referral link which will give you a starting advantage of free 100 1UP tokens. Do share your feedback and experience if you decide to join.

Referral link- https://www.uptrennd.com/signup/MzI4OTI

Originally posted on Uptrennd by me at - https://www.uptrennd.com/post-detail/contra-my-favourite-childhood-game~MTk2MDA3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91