Harvester: a dark satirical game about violent media

in #gaming8 years ago

This is a copy of a post from my blog, which you can find here. 

-

SPOILER WARNING!


Although I do love philosophy and endless debates about the existence of god, nothing quite pleases me the same way video games do. I wanted to write a post about a game I love, I just wasn't sure which game to pick, but then it struck me... I OF COURSE have to write about Harvester!


Harvester is a game that has a very special place in my heart. It's unique blend of dark satire and point & click adventure will never leave me. I have had many an hour of fun playing this game, I think I've finished it four times now. The first time I played the game, I played it for myself, I was astounded, confused and intrigued by the town of Harvest in which the game is set. But the other three times, I've had a friend play it. The sheer look of confusion on their face allows me to experience a small part of the emotion I first felt when I played this glorious game. Anyway, enough about my feelings let's talk more about the actual game.


Harvester is a point & click adventure game released in 1996, the game is a satire about whether violence in media creates, or is created by, violence in society. It also satirizes 1950's America. The game is set in the town of Harvest, you take the role of a person called Steve, who doesn't remember anything about himself, his family, or the town he lives in. The people in Harvest are acting very strange, almost robotic, everyone always seems to say the line 'You always were a kidder Steve.' and laughs about your memory loss. You seem to be the only sane person in town, until you meet Stephanie and she tells you that she also doesn't remember anything.



Harvest is full of strange, seemingly backwards people and thinking, for example, the paper boy does not deliver newspapers, he collects them. If you do not give them to him, he shoots you with a gun, yes you heard me correctly, he shoots you with a gun. The game is full of violent scenes, violent language and absurd language.



As you talk to more people in Harvest you realize that the whole town revolves around a large building called 'the Lodge'. You must do several tasks to pass the initiation and enter the Lodge...



Harvester's brand of absurdist humour, dark satire and violence, is utterly and confusingly amazing. I would love to go more in depth about the game, but that would just ruin it for you. If you're a fan of satire and dark humour and you're fine with stupid amounts of violence BUY HARVESTER! It's available on GOG and Steam.


Oh, and by the way...


You always were a kidder Steve. 

Sort:  

Looks pretty cool. I would love to see a large gaming community on steemit!

That would be awesome!

Congratulations @sageboba! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sageboba! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59184.02
ETH 2530.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46