Street Fighter

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Akuma.jpg

Back when I was 14,15, and 16 I played a lot of Street Fighter. I had a crew of friends that played as well. That is all we did for like 4 years. The game was amazing. A huge step up from games like Karate Champ and Double Dragon.

Another little favorite out that at this time was Mortal Kombat. We engaged with this device multiple times as well. Nothing like Street Fighter though. It was what we knew. Possibly loved for the fact I stole my Super Nintendo from the store to play the game.

I used Zangief, Ryu, and Fei Long. I loved Ryu and Fei Long. They were both so fluid. One of my favorites was Zangief. He was impossible to use really on the snes. He was amazing in his own way at the arcade.

I chose him as a challenge. He was the slowest character and had no projectile. The one big thing was the spinning pile driver. The damage was horrendous! The problem with the maneuver is it was very difficult.

We would game for hours and talk mad shit to each other. Calling names and making fun of family members. Even possibly faults of one another. My friend Tom got so pissed off one time he left the session and went outside. When he came back his hands were bloody from beating on a tree.

We said "Oh dude. Too bad." or some something like that.

I worked in an arcade in Madison. I Won a Street Fighter 3 tournament I held for the arcade. There were only about 30 that showed up but, these were the best. It was great being the champion.

I played a lot of Killer Instinct as well. Some Tekken too. Tekken was awesome! So technical. Like a putting together some sort of contraption when you played. Killer Instinct was some sort of a totally jacked up threshing machine.

I would see some real talent walk through those doors.

I don't get mad at losing like that anymore. I have grown older and won enough times to knew I was pretty good.

Good times.

I ended up

Sort:  

The whole Street Fighter series is indeed really awesome, I've also spent numerous days playing these games.
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years (just made one about 1998) and there are only a few truly food fighting series - Street Fighter is surely one of them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43