Gadget Review - PS Vita - Why It's Only Best For Gaming

in #gaming7 years ago

download.jpg

Source

I've been playing video games for more than 20 years now.

I started on SNES then arcade cabinets but when playstation 1 hit the Philippines, it was like a rock star on a tour. Computer shops were everywhere to play PS1 games. Tournaments and even gambling were present.

But as time goes by, the good old days of 90s gaming scene just went away like that.

Today, most people play games on their phones or tablets while hardcore gamers are mostly playing on PC.

And it's perfectly normal, everyone has phones now where they can play anytime and PC is always a choice for great titles and a lot of PC tournaments can be seen on TV or e-sports.

But not me!

Okay, I also play PC games but when I do, I always use a game pad to have that feeling that I am still playing a console.

I don't know, I just can't feel like I'm playing a game if it is on a phone or tablet because there's no buttons.

And so when it comes to gaming, my preferred choice is the PS Vita. Even though it's not getting the support it needs from Sony, it is the best one suitable for me and I've been a playstation fan ever since. I just got it this year when my PSP has given up on me.

Hardware


PS Vita 1000

Vita has 2 models, slim and phat version. What I got is the older phat one because of the bigger, brighter screen than the other one. As you can see, it has 2 analog sticks, a total upgrade from it's predecessor, the classic 4 shape buttons, d-pad and 2 shoulder buttons. It also has a rear touch pad for some games like Tearaway or Uncharted: Golden Abyss

22236384_1983113695039943_2042972704_n.jpg

Memory Card

Probably the main reason why the Vita didn't get the attention it deserve. Sony made memory cards exclusive only to Vita where in the price are very expensive. Normal SD cards can't be use on it. A 64 gig vita MC costs around $90 while you can get an SD card for half the price. Why Sony?!

990721083521329.jpg

Cartridge

Games on the PS Vita can be downloaded anytime from the playstation store but cartridges are also available as there are some players who prefers using cartridges for various purposes like collections. Below is a pic of a PS Vita cartridge versus the cartridge of a Nintendo 3DS.

990721083521329.jpg

Source

Other Features

The battery life is about 4 to 5 hours even with wifi on. It might seem pretty average for hardcore gamers.

PlayStation-Vita-Battery-Life-feature.jpg

Source

It also has a microphone near the headphone jack for games like Little Deviant or for voice chat for online gamers though it will drain the battery faster.

images.jpg

Source

There's also a front and back camera that I can say is good enough for some use every now and then. It's not the best but it's usable.

Image using the front camera

2017-10-05-083658.jpg

Image using the rear camera

2017-10-05-084025.jpg

As you can see, both images aren't that good in terms of quality so better stick with your phone when it comes to pics and vids but when it comes to sound, the vita is a little better than most smartphones.


Apps

2017-10-09-054546.jpg

The apps installed in the Playstation Vita are mostly used for media and communications. It seems Sony wants the vita to be an all around gadget, not just for games.

Here are some of the best apps installed in it:

Web Browser

Definitely the best one and the biggest upgrade from PSP. It has a touch screen keyboard for texts and touch screen controls that PSP doesn't have.

2017-10-10-024316.jpg

Near

Near is an appealing app in the Vita but something I haven't used even once. This app detects other Vita users within a maximum of 10 mile radius. You can check here what others are playing, trophies gained, games ratings and can even share gifts from the games that you've played.

2017-10-10-025953.jpg

PS3 and PS4 linking

Boy, this is one reason I would want either a PS3 or PS4. There's 2 different apps for each console but work almost the same. In these apps, you can make your Vita as an extra controller. The games from the consoles will also be shown on the vita's screen.

For PS3

Source

For PS4

Source


Games

Vita has an extensive library of great titles. It's just sad that Sony isn't giving Vita the support it needs. Major game developers aren't making a lot of games now for this powerful tiny machine. But it gave way to a lot of indie developers and it is very famous in Japan.

And the best thing about gaming in Vita is its backwards compatibility meaning you can play a lot of different title from the previous consoles.

Vita

2017-10-10-041858.jpg

As you can see, I have a Fruit Ninja game here that my daughter loves to play. It's a famous game where you use your fingers to slice the fruits.

PSP

Showing here is one of my all time favorite game and never leaves my vita which is Tekken 6 with my profile name on it.

2017-10-10-043138.jpg

PS1

And here is the character creation page of Chrono Cross, one of the best RPG of all time and in my next to play list.

2017-10-10-043903.jpg

And if you are willing, you can also mod (hack) your vita to become an ultimate retro machine where in you can use a lot of emulators and play games from SNES, Gameboy, Gameboy Advance, Atari and almost (if not all) every console from the past.


Conclusion

PSVita is an amazing hand held console. If you're into gaming a lot, this is absolutely one of the best choice. The support in forums, fan translation, tutorials are all active and better than ever. However, other features are just standard which sometimes make it inferior to others but who cares about that if you're only into gaming right?

"All photos without source are screenshots from my Vita."



If you find value on this post, feel free to share it.

Join our amazing Filipino Steemit Community on Discord especially if you need tips and guides about Steemit

Steemit Philippines Discord

gif was made by @malos10

Sort:  

Nice post , games are very fun with especially with PS4 , thank's to share good luck am waiting for your new posts !

Thank you. you've got great game reviews my friend, yeah since I have a vita, I plan to make game reviews too both retro like ps1 and psp and vita.

Cool! Nalaro ko rin yang fruit ninja. :)

hehe sikat na game nga sya, meron na din yan sa arcades like tom's world haha

This is a great post...

Have you played Chrono Cross before? it's one of the games I spent a lot of time on and talked about it in my "Plastation 1 Games of My Teenage Years" post.... it's defiently worth it.

It's sad that Sony don't care about the Vita a lot... and only Japanese games are good in it. I prefered the 3DS and bought it (2DS) because it had Pokemon.. but as a system I might like the Vita better...

For don't have money to buy one, and I think it's too late... maybe I'll take the next generation when it gets out?

Thank you

I haven't played Chrono Cross but it is on my next RPG list to play after I finish my current one, I'm playing Ar Nosurge plus for the moment.

I would also love to have a 3DS or maybe a switch if I have the budget because of great titles but yes, I think in terms of system, vita is more powerful but I think 3DS still has more great titles plus it still has the support unlike Vita.

If I remember correctly, there are rumors about the next portable but it's still rumors, a refurbished vita is okay, mine is a refurbished one because the older system, 3.60 can be hacked which is really worth it, lots of games plus emulators can be installed.

Thank you for the insight and the added value my friend :-)

Nice review. Maybe I'll consider this buying since I broke my PSP3000.
Well done! Thanks

you're welcome, I feel you, mine got broke too but this is worth it even if it's refurbished, make sure it's 3.60 so you can hack it for lots of free games and emulators :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rye05 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75