CORAL COVE: RESEARCH INSPIRATION

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I have broken my streak of Steemit posts due to my obsession over a game. I really first fell in love with it last year, but my son has gotten me playing again. It is a game called Hearthstone.

It is a digital card game made by Blizzard, and it is a perfect blend of digital and the sonic and visual textures I love about card games.

I want to get back into doing daily Steemit posts, so I invented a game called CORAL COVE. It will be heavily inspired by Hearthstone, and requires me to dig deep and analyze the elements that makes Hearthstone so good. My end goal is to have my own game that is playable from a Steemit post. I also have a bonus goal of getting a design accepted into Hearthstone as they accept fan designs as part of their future deck releases.

Here is my plan:


Introduction to Hearthstone

This video does a decent job explaining the details.

Introduction

Hearthstone is a digital card game made by Blizzard, where you compete against one player to reduce their health to zero.

You have the ability to make your own 30 card deck with spells, weapons, taunts, secrets, adapts, and minions.

Card Information

Spells have the ability to attack the enemy or their minions. They can also heal or manipulate gameplay to your advantage eg. peeking at the next three cards and adding one to your hand.

Weapons are cards that allow you to directly attack and enemy or it's minions during your turn. Some weapons have the added ability of healing or increasing the attach and health of your character. Weapons have a limited amount of uses reflected in the durability noted on the card.

Taunt cards force the enemy to attack the taunt minion first. Taunts can be used to protect other weaker cards, or slow down an enemy from attacking you.

Secrets are conditional cards that require an event to happen before executing. Eg. give the user 10 armor during an attack.

Adapts are a new feature, that allow you to customize your card and add on the ability to have more attack, more health, add taunt, or add on a variety of other abilities.

One mana is available during each turn then increases by one until each player has ten mana. Mana determines how many cards can be played in a turn. Each card has a specific mana cost that is spent with the card is dragged from the player's hand to the board.

Minion cards are creatures with attack and health. Some minions have added abilities related to spawning other minions or increasing attack after receiving damage.

Card Acquisition

Cards packs can be earned by achieving quests, earning gold, or participating in the Tavern Brawl or Arena events. Leveling up allows you to access more cards in your class.

Tavern Brawl is a play mode that changes often. Many times you will have the opportunity to play with Legendary cards that are extremely rare and powerful.

Arena events are a series of games against other Hearthstone players with decks assembled from the entire set from a specific class. Normally you would have to pay or play a long time before having access to these cards.

Cards are often available based on their rarity: Free, Common, Rare, Epic, and Legendary


I will be updating the todo list, changing tasks to Steemit post links as I finish them.

Comment with the name of your favorite card or board game.


Sources:

Sort:  

Nice post @rubenalexander you post really describes the whole heartstone arena game in detail.

Actually I just barely mentioned it. But if you play you will understand it. What I will have to do is make major sacrifices as to what I will not include in my game. Blizzard has world class artists and devs pumping out ideas left and right. Working solo, I need to pick the best path to finish while the iron is still hot.

nice @rubenalexander u start this game and i think u will good player in it whats about ur logos work and now ur about bear which u alwasy like...best wishes for u @rubenalexander..and really i dont see u on steemit from last 2 days..and welcom back again

I went several days in a row posting. I needed a break and a moment of clarity. I got the break and clarity and now it is time to try something fun and new! : )

good job @rubenalexander best wishes for ur may god give u many succes in ur new step...u r always best ur old work..follow me like always before this @rubenalexander...may be u see my first introduction post on my blog which i post today and u know me

wow i will try this game and whats will ur own game i wait ur own game when will ur game is ready

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

Very good post for students. @naz722

I used to play hearthstone a couple of years ago. I don't play as much often but it used to be such an enthralling game. I can't wait to see Coral Cove!
Good luck on your journey @rubenalexander

Great post @rubenalexander! I love this game :D

i love gaming , i will try this game , thank you so much

.i was stollen my other account password which name is @shahzaib and u know me from that accoun and u add that accout i coment u daily but now taht closed now start this new and follow u ,follow me my this account..
for our always touch like before it...and now i always conect with u from this acount

This post has received a 3.58 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @rubenalexander.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48