[Rogue Retro Gaming] Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (NES)

in #gaming6 years ago

Have you ever heard the term NES hard? Well Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (TMNT) on the NES is the definition of NES hard, released by Konami using the Ultra brand in 1989, this is one of my favorite childhood games.


Source

Some footage of my gameplay

Plot
You play as the TNMT (yes, all of them) and you have to rescue April O'Neal from the hands of Shredder, she is being carried in buildings by Bebop and Rocksteady, when April is rescued you return home and find it all torn to pieces and Splinter gone captured by Shredder you need to go into Shredder's lair and rescue him.


Source

Graphic
The game offers pretty standard graphics for an NES game the turtles differentiate from one another by the color of their clothing and the weapon. Backgrounds are pretty detailed and I think textures seem pretty good since you can know where you are fighting, being a dam, the sewers or the city. All in all, I think is a pretty average NES game.

Sounds
Music in the game is great, I really like from the music at the start of the game in the TMNT theme song to the levels I found them to be pretty upbeat and they loop for about a minute or so, It doesn't get annoying. Sound effects, in general, are not great but are what you come to expect from an NES game.

Gameplay
This is a sidescroller platformer with overhead areas in between. You start the game as Leonardo but you can use the start screen to change to whichever turtle you feel like it on the fly. Health bars are individual to each turtle, as well as items, so if a turtle is about to die you can change it to another one. When a turtle is killed is captured by Shredder and you can't use it, if the 4 turtles are capture you lose the game. Begining with level 3 you have an opportunity to get one of the captured turtles if you clear a stage. You have 2 buttons, one to jump and the other to attack, so that's pretty basic. The game is fun but unforgivingly hard, I had so much trouble when I was a kid in trying to get past the Dam level. Every turtle has its own weapon that varies in range and speed which makes turtles for every occasion.


Source


Source

The game is super fun but borderline frustrating based on that is really hard when I was a kid I loved the game but couldn't appreciate it that much since I couldn't get past a certain point, I get know that the game has a cult classic status. I recommend you this game and has many ports you can play it was actually released in the Wii virtual console.


Source

Share your retro gaming stories with us!

These quick looks are my own findings and original thoughts acquire while playing the game

If you like this post and want to see more content like this please:
Upvote, comment, resteemit
Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Nailed it! Same experience, could never beat the dam level. That dam level. Dam.

Yeah! You got it! The Dam level is hard but when I was a kid seem harder than when I replay it now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63