Top 10 NES Games and my rather small collection

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Hai guise! Long time no see, but it is summer and people should not sit inside writing articles on Steemit. So I turned my white skin into some brown-ish color, but you can´t ALWAYS be out in the sun, right? Once in a while, you have to play a nice video game. And what´s better than a NES game? Exactly, nothing.

My collection of NES games is not that large, but it includes some beauties. Those are just about 70% of my games though. I also got some boxed ones in stable collector cases :) - I did sell some games too, a while ago, when the prices were really high. Before selling a NES games, check how much it is really worth. Some games are worth several hundred Euros ;)

IMG_20180803_090738.jpg

Anyway, here it is, my personal top 10 list of best NES games. I will start from number 10 to make it more exciting.

#10 - Bionic Commando


It was hard (like a LOT of NES games), but the grappling hook was great and something completely new back then. There is a remake that´s pretty great and includes co-op multiplayer. And there is a FPS version from 2009 for the PC - I would love to see a VR version of that game! It would be like Spiderman, but i never really liked Spiderman. Grappling hook overpowers some white stuff from the hands - it´s just disgusting.

The video is NOT from the NES version (obviously), but from the amazing PC game.

#9 - Totally Rad

I believe this game is pretty unknown. Not sure why i had this when i was a kid. I would say it´s one of the harder games of the NES, the gameplay was great because you had different "suits". Uncommon for games back then. There was even some parallax scrolling in the background in some levels.

#8 - Excite Bike


I just LOVED that game. I had a "Game Genie", a device you could attach to the game cartridges. With that device, you could jump a lot higher in Excite Bike, and when you hit the top of the screen you appeared at the bottom. Weird but funny. Anyway, that´is not why i love the game, it just had create controls, amazing motor sounds and a nice track editor.

#7 - Nintendo World Cup


This is still the very best soccer game out there. Because it is easy to control (who needs all the fancy different buttons to control each finger of the player) and looks great - if you forget about the flickering players. The music will stay in your head forever.

#6 - Gun Smoke


Another rarely known game, I believe. Fast paced western shooter with different guns and horses. Enough said :)

#5 - Chip 'N Dale Rescue Rangers


Not too hard, not too easy (especially because of the bosses). And one of the best co-op games for the NES. Did not really like the music though, probably one reason why this is only number 5.

#4 - Double Dragon


It was simple, and it had co-op (yeah, I really like co-op). Other parts had weird controls and I did not like the graphics, so this is definitely my favourite Double Dragon - on the NES, of course. We will get to a Top list of SNES games later, and Double Dragon will be part of it for sure :)

#3 - Super Mario Bros. 3


Of course this cannot be missing from any NES top list. It was groundbreaking. It was large, it had a world map, it had the Tanookie Suit...a tough decision not to select it for number 2 or even 1. It definitely deserves to be in the top 3 though.

#2 - Super Mario Bros. 2


Why is Super Mario Bros 2 ranked higher than Super Mario Bros 3? Well, because it was different and still is. I would love to see a remake with improved graphics. It was just a bit too easy imho. Always played with the princess because she could fly for a short while. What was your favourite character? My god, I loved the music at the player selection screen...

#1 - Battletoads


Yeah, I know, another superhard game. And I never finished it - I guess only a handful of people did. But I managed to get to Level 8 (or even 9? I am not entirely sure). That´s quite the achievement, if you know the game ;) Anyway, this game was ground breaking back then. The controls and animations were great, the leveldesign was completely different in each level, and the co-op mode was cool. I spent a lot of time with this game for a good reason, it definitely deserves to be the number one. Also love the soundtrack. That speedrun was not me, btw :)

Why no Zelda in your list?

Because Zelda 1 and 2 on the NES just sucked. Sorry. I love Zelda, but definitely not on the NES.


What´s your list? Comment or create a new article - and post it as a comment, because that´s how i will see it. Still not using some fancy bot or anything else than Steemit, so I don´t see it when you just tag me in your article :)

Sort:  

Funny that you you mention that game, it almost made it into the list. I LOVED the game, even had blisters on my thumbs from playing it. left-right-left-right-left-right... :)

Did not know that, thanx, I may give it a try! One other great sports game was WWF Wrestlemania. It almost made it to the top 10 list :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79