Do You want to get into video game collecting? Here's some suggestions on what consoles you should collect for right now.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

collecting.jpg

While not a new hobby, the popularity of video game collecting has exploded over the past few years. While this has brought new tools and resources to collectors, its also caused the prices of games to skyrocket. I started my collection about 15 years ago when prices for retro games were still low, but entering the hobby today can be prohibitively expensive.

So what are new collectors to do?

My suggestion is to target consoles that haven't yet attracted the eye of the larger game collecting community. The 'sweet spot' seems to be consoles 1 to 2 generations beyond the current gen. Games and systems from these generations are a great entry point for anyone looking to start with this hobby because the nostalgia factor hasn't kicked in quite yet, and in the coming years they will likely become more popular as gamers revisit games they played in their childhood or teen years. That being said, here's my suggestions for consoles you should consider targeting to build your collection today.

Playstation 2

The PS2 is the highest-selling game console of all time and may never be dethroned. The console features a staggering library of over 1,800 games released in North America, with plenty of variety in every genre. In addition, games are very inexpensive since many sold quite well and are easy to find. For the most part, the library of games has aged fairly well too, with controllers and gameplay not far removed from modern games.

With only a few games topping the $100 mark and classics like Metal Gear Solid 3, Ratchet and Clank, Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy X, Jak and Daxter and Sly Cooper all available for around $5 each, the system is my choice for the best current collecting entry point.

Xbox

Much like the Playstation 2, the Xbox has a solid library and is quite inexpensive to collect for. In addition, there currently isn't a ton of demand for original Xbox games, which makes finding them for next to nothing fairly common.

With a library of around 1,000 games, there isn't quite as much to pick from compared to the PS2, but there's still a lot of great exclusives that can be found at a great price.

Keep an eye out for must-own classics like Halo 1 and 2, Crimson Skies, Dead or Alive 3, Jade Empire, Knights of the Old Republic, Shenmue II and Ninja Gaiden.

Intellivision

A far reach from newer consoles, if you're interested in collecting something much older, I suggest the Intellivision. Only 118 games were ever released for the console and there isn't a huge following for it (yet), but it could always gain attention and skyrocket, but like the TG16 did a few years ago.

With only a handful of rare and expensive titles and a library where about half of the games can be had for under $5, its a great choice for a new collector looking for something older or a little different.

Nintendo DS

My suggestion for handhelds is the Nintendo DS, which has been made obsolete by the newer 3DS line. With so many gamers moving to newer systems or mobile devices for their on-the-go gaming needs, the DS has been largely neglected.

The library of games is massive; about the same size as the PS2, though trending more towards kid-oriented games than consoles. However, the games are very inexpensive to collect for outside of a small number of rare titles. The DS also features many hardware and color variations, giving you another option if you want to collect system variants in addition to the games.

The bottom line

Collect what you're interested in, not what you think might skyrocket in value. Find a system that features lots of the types of games that you love and focus on that. It doesn't take long to acquire a respectable collection when you find something you're passionate about and isn't loaded with a library of expensive games.


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Sort:  

The DS has an amazing library of games. If I were a collector I imagine I'd be collecting for it and other handhelds.

I've got a modest DS collection, though my biggest interest in handhelds is collecting different models and colors of Gameboy and DS systems, though it can get tiring due to the sheer quantity of colors and iterations and special editions, especially once you get to the DS line.

Oh yeah. Lots of models. If I were collecting I'd just stick to the games myself.

They look cool on display though. My goal was getting all 6 Game Boy Color models, but that eventually led me to start picking up other Game Boy and DS models and colors when I found them at a good price. Honestly, I found many of them at garage sales where you can get them for $10-$15 bucks or so.

That's a handsome collection in the first photo - is it yours?

It's funny, I've spent the last several years trying to minimize my possessions - tired of packing them up every time I move. I unloaded my original Xbox and games a while ago, but I had every one you listed!

No more consoles for me, though. It's just been Steam all the way.

Not mine -- my collection is in disarray at the moment as baby/little kid stuff has taken over my game room. I may dig up some older pics of my collection and post them in the future though.

Priorities sure can change in a hurry, can't they? Congratulations on the little one!

I made a new post yesterday which is a tour of my game room, if you want to see what the Retro Room actually looks like :)

The PS2 and Nintendo DS are all shamefully inexpensive to get started in on collecting, and the Xbox isn't too far behind. Never considered the Intellivision, but I still bought the Intellivision Lives! compilation for the PS2, and it's awesome. :)

Yeah, PS2 is has an insanely low price vs. quality ratio. You can pick up tons of amazing games for $5 or less. I've found a lot of PS2 and XBox games at pawn shops for $2. In fact, a pawn shop is where I found my copy of Blood Will Tell, which is now pretty expensive. That was a good find.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I think collection is a good hobby... not one I'm interested in (yeah I love collecting things but being a collector needs a lot of money)...

I think the one I'm interested most in those is NDS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76