Top 5 most important arcade games of all time

in #gaming7 years ago

arcade.jpg

Arcades were the gateway drug to what would evolve and expand to become an industry larger than Hollywood within 30 years. We flocked to malls, pizza joints, grocery stores and 7/11’s to get our fix of games like Pac-Man, Dig Dug and Street Fighter. Arcades had a strong run for about 15 years, before home console technology caught up to arcades and we wanted longer, more in-depth experiences that quarter-munchers couldn’t provide.

While arcades are essentially dead, they were fundamental in shaping the gaming industry. Let’s take a look at what I feel are the top 5 most important arcade games of all time.

Space Invaders



Image Source: EmuParadise

One of the earliest popular arcade games, Space Invaders was simple and crude, but set the standard for space-based shooters. You piloted a ship at the bottom of the screen and blasted away at waves of aliens that advanced towards you from top to bottom. Everything from Galaga to Raiden owe their success to what was established in Space Invaders.

Donkey Kong



Image Source: Troy Grady

While technically not the first, Donkey Kong was the most influential early platformer. You took control of Jumpman (they hadn't named him Mario yet) and had to climb various construction sites to save your girlfriend Pauline (they must have broken up when Mario started chasing after Princess Peach a few years later).

The sidescrolling gameplay that had you jumping over obstacles basically established the standards that would be used in future titles like Sonic the Hedgehog and Mega Man.

Pole Position



Image Source: No Quarter Podcast

Until Pole Position came along, racing games were mostly restricted to clunky, overhead views of crudely rendered cars on simple tracks. What PP did was shift the view to behind the racer, giving us the first real 3D perspective in racing games. Popular titles like Outrun and Cruisin USA owe much to the groundwork laid by Pole Position.

Yie-ar Kung Fu



Image Source: PawluPascarawlu

While not the first one-on-one fighting game (Karate Champ beat it to market by one year), this relatively obscure title was monumental in establishing the standards that influenced the fighting game genre. From a wide range of attacks, to fast, fluid and frantic gameplay, Yie-ar was hugely influential on the Street Fighter series that made fighting games massively popular. It's also a personal favorite of mine. The sound effects and music alone take me back to being an 10-year-old kid.

Dance Dance Revolution



Image Source: NeoGaf

The decade from the mid-80's to mid-90's was mostly well-established genres seeing refined and better-looking versions of shooters, beat-em-ups and racing games. The last big innovation from arcades was the idea of using complete different types of input, including your own body. While some of these ideas were tested at home, with gimmicky peripherals like the Power Pad, Rock N' Roller and Sega's Activator, nothing nailed this concept better than DDR. This series injected the last bit of adrenaline into the arcade scene and brought us back for one final encore. The concepts from DDR eventually evolved into the Nintendo Wii and Guitar Hero.


I have a tremendous sense of nostalgia for arcade games the point that I've got a half-dozen of them in my game room (plus several project cabinets in my garage). I spent much of my childhood huddled around a Galaga or Super Sprint machine. These games really solidified and influenced many of the games I wasted countless quarters on as a kid and they really deserve to be remembered and honored.

What do you think? Are there more influential games I left off my list (Tetris perhaps)? Let's discuss!


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image Source: History of Informatics

Sort:  

How about these?

| Centipede
centipede-arcade.jpg

| Asteroids
june2011008.JPG

| Pacman
17754-vintage-pac-man-arcade-machine-screen.jpg

It's pretty tough to narrow the most influential games to only 5. I'd usually look to find the games that I could last the longest in like Bad Dudes and Golden Axe but you probably got the beginning of each genre correct, Yir Ar Kung fu is debatable though. Dance dance revolution sort of signaled the end of the age when arcades were on the decline.

I never played the arcade version of Yie-ar Kung Fu that much but I played the Commodore 64 version a lot. I got to the point where I could beat all of the characters multiple times. It's been a while though so I'm not sure how I would do now.

I don't own any arcade games and don't really have much room for any (I suppose I could get rid of some stuff in my computer room and have room for a couple). I really want to acquire a MAME cabinet one of these days...

Great list! If it were top 10 I would include Virtua Fighter.

I don't think anyone realizes how important Pole Position was! Great article dude keep it up!

You got a 3.84% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @retro-room!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I was a complete DDR nut! In my stretch of working in Spain, I used to go round the corner from my apartment to the local bowling alley and put 15 to 20€ into the machine once a week! :D

After my uni days, I was looking forward to returning to my home town as a Namco Wonderpark wasn't too far away and they had the EuroMix2 cab... unfortunately I returned to find they'd closed it and opened more restaurants in the space. :(

They also used to have the Ridge Racer with real sized car and and motion version of WipEout.

Awesome list! I should give Pole Position and Yie Ar Kung Fu a try sometime. When I think about influential games, I think less about those that started a trend and more about those that popularized it. Here are some that come to mind:

Street Fighter II: this one created the fighting game craze that still exists today and now, we have tournaments and professional players who play fighting games for a living.

Dragon's Lair: this game blended animated movie footage and QTE (Quick Time Events) mechanics and since then, we've had FMV (Full Motion Video) games like Mad Dog McCree and QTE-based games like the God of War series.

X-Men: this is one of the few games that allow up to 6 players to join and even though the beat 'em up genre isn't what it used to be, the 90s saw a lot of multiplayer co-op arcade games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35