The Top 10 Most Expensive Sega Dreamcast Games

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

The Dreamcast is highly collectible, which has sent prices soaring for games that collectors and dedicated fans want.

Sega's final game console, the Dreamcast, was a moderate success and massive hit with Sega fans and the gaming industry, but the impending launch of the PS2 and Sega's financial woes put the Dreamcast into an early grave. It was a revolutionary console, the first that featured an official online network.

The system has a dedicated fanbase and its home to many fantastic games in niche categories, which has sent the prices of the most desirable games soaring.

As always, bundles, special editions and promo games are not included in this list. Prices are for complete games.

#10 Gunbird 2

unnamed-5.jpg
$74.85

# 9 Tech Romancer

unnamed-7.jpg
$75.00 (tie)

# 9 Illbleed

unnamed-8.jpg
$75.00 (tie)

# 7 Power Stone 2

unnamed-9.jpg
$78.74

# 6 Rez

unnamed-6.jpg
$86.90

# 5 Giga Wing

unnamed-3.jpg
$94.00

# 4 Mars Matrix

unnamed-2.jpg
$100.00

# 3 Project Justice

unnamed-4.jpg
$109.50

# 2 Cannon Spike

unnamed-1.jpg
$166.57

# 1 Giga Wing 2

unnamed.jpg
$180.37

Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Most of the shmups (shoot-em-ups) find themselves on this list, as it was a popular console to port impressive 2D arcade-style shooter games to. Anything on this list surprise you? Do you still have or play Sega Dreamcast games? Are you lucky enough to have any of these games in your collection? Let's discuss?

As always, resteems, upvotes and comments are appreciated.

Sort:  

Cannon Spike was something the local used game stores always seemed to have on the shelves for $20 back in the day. People would return it because they didn't know what to make of it. If only I had known. :)

I'm glad Crazy Taxi isn't on there because I gave it away last year when I found it in my old room 😂

Crazy Taxi was really popular and pretty common, so its not one of the really expensive ones. Its worth around $10 or so right now, so take solace in the fact that you didn't give away a $100 game :)

That's reassuring to know. I think it came free with the console as part of a bundle. It's mad how it was an entire game to pick people up and drop them off, when in Grand Theft Auto this is now just a tiny side game.

True, but it was done so well. It was a home port of the arcade game, which explains why the gameplay was so simple.

So much fun though. Crazy Taxi 2 is great too.

Power Stone 2 is the best game which i can remember.

I totally forgot about dreamcast, I miss that console I didn't know they had a lot of game. I didn't know a lot of people who played it.

It has one of the best overall game libraries of all time. Very few garbage titles ended up on the system.

I that's why dreamcast fail, I only played sonic adventures

It was good for what it was. but i didn't really care for the rest of the games.

I bought my Dreamcast for Jet Grind Radio, but ended up buying about 20 more games and most of them were excellent.

they didn't really have many commercials for dreamcast game especially when xbox and playstation came out.

This post has received a 4.12 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @retro-room.

great post man

Damn...i remember Power Stone 2...such a hard game to actually get your hands on!

Congratulations @retro-room! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

My favorite console! Expendable, Slave Zero and Omikron got a lot of play time from me. And once I played Resident Evil on Dreamcast I couldn't play it on Playstation anymore.

I even shelled out the extra money to get it modded so I could play Ikaruga. If I were to start collecting again I would do Dreamcast for sure.

If I remember Rez did not get a release in America, but arrived in Europe by the publisher BigBen. Many N-A guys have imported this pal version which makes it extremely rare nowadays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58117.54
ETH 3128.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23