The scariest level of a game I've ever played -- the nursery from Zombi U

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

zombiu.jpg

I never knew that something as simple as getting some fuel for the generator could be so complicated. The Prepper pointed me in the direction of a survivor named Vikram who was known to trade fuel for other necessities, and we desperately needed that fuel.

The path to Vikram was a treacherous one, much like every other expedition out into the zombie infested London streets. I managed to find him, but unfortunately I had nothing he wanted to trade his precious fuel for. But he still gave me a way to get it.

He needed antibiotics for his child and was willing to trade me some fuel for some. While I didn't know where the safest place to rummage for it would be, Vikram pointed me towards the school nearby that was sure to have some. I agreed and set out on my way.

Little did I know what horrors awaited me in that nursery.

The path to the school was as dangerous as every other part of the city, but treading carefully I managed to find the place. I had my fingers crossed this was a place untouched by the zombie plague that has infested this city, but my heart sank as I entered the building.

The place looked like every other ruined and ransacked building I had come across so far, but so much more depressing. Fingerpainted artwork of the children decorated the walls and lockers of the school, while music for toddlers could be heard in the background. I hoped the children were OK, however I discovered some tiny bloody handprints that assure at the very least, they all didn't make it out alive.

After a moment to center myself, I moved on and continued exploring the building, leaning on my trusty the radar map to alert me to the presence of zombies before I run into them. I rounded the corner near the offices and a biter jumped out of a locker at me, nearly taking a bite out of my face before I managed to bludgeon it into silence with my trusty cricket bat. I searched the corpse for anything useful, as I did with every former person I had to put down.

I continued to search the building for the antibiotics, dispatching zombies as I came across them until I finally managed to find them so I could escape. Unfortunately, the floors gave out and I plunged into the basement. I desperately wanted to escape from this horrible place, but I had to now find my way out of the basement.

After collecting myself, I started to explore this area for a way out. As I entered one area, which was pitch black, the radar map suddenly stopped working! This had kept be safe through the infected city and now I'm trapped in this pitch black basement with no idea if at any time I'll wander into a zombie. I didn't have to wait long to find out.

I was not alone down here.

The horrific gasping sounds of a zombie made itself known. I frantically scoured the room with my flashlight and spotted the thing. Unlike every other zombie I'd encountered, this one crackled and lit up with electricity and in a flash it disappeared! Where the hell did it go?

I stayed as quiet as possible and continued to try to locate it. A crackle and flash lit up just outside my peripheral vision as it appeared right next to me! I quickly lashed out with my bat to fight it off and it vanished once again.

I could hear it off in the distance, shuffling, crackling, bumping into metal shelves and pipes and I waited for it to run at me again, which it did. I managed to luckily fight it off once again. One last time, this thing came after me and I finally managed to put it down for good.

After killing the thing my radar map came back to life. Whatever got into this zombie was jamming the signal to my map. I approached it cautiously so I could see if she had anything useful. As I neared the body, it lunged forward and let out a blood-curdling scream, before collapsing for good!


Image source:

At that, I quickly found the stairs and then the exit of this hellhole and ran back to Vikram as fast as I could. I thought this fetch quest would be simple, yet ended up being the most horrifying moment of my escape from zombie-infested London.

Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover image source:

Sort:  

OMG finally someone else who has played Zombi U as well!

I remember going there too and as the floor collapsed and my radar went off, I knew something very bad was going to happen.

I identified this encounter as something more of a spectral one? It feels like the zombie might not have been that real and more so the fact that our character might have freaked out and hallucinated it.

I really really love this game and consider it a hidden gem of the Wii U. It didn't garner the recognition it deserved even if it was a pioneer on the usage of the gamepad as the main feature of the console. Great post, my dude.

Looting corpses in the game had always been safe, but I was already on edge after going through the creepy nursery and fighting this thing without my radar. When you try to loot it and it lunges at you, it scared the crap out of me. I remember yelling out loud, then my wife laughed at me :) It might be the best jump scare in all of gaming because of how it subverts your expectations.

I see it as a really misunderstood game and I often refer to it as the "anti-Left 4 Dead". Running through will get you killed, so you had to hide, avoid making noise and run like hell if more than 2 zombies showed up. The game was filled with unique and creative ideas like perma-death where you restarted as a different person and had to hunt down the zombiefied corpse of your last character to get your loot back, the creative uses of the gamepad (using its speaker to act as the Prepper's radio, manually organizing your inventory on the screen, etc.)

While it has its faults, its something horror fans need to experience, and on the Wii U if possible. The uses of the gamepad are half of the experience.

At the start of the game when I didn't know how the mechanics worked, I thought everytime I stopped and crouched to open my backpack, something would come lunging at me from a dark corner or something, loool

That was a brilliant gameplay mechanic. When looking through your inventory, the camera perspective switched so you couldn't see if a zombie was sneaking up on you and the game continued in real time, so every time you went into your pack it was a tense moment.

Hi @retro-room!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.480 which ranks you at #1979 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 21 places in the last three days (old rank 2000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #214.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74