You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Look Look! A BioShock Movi- Oh.. It's Cancelled

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

This is one of the few games I think they might get right when adapted into a film. Bioshock has a surprisingly rich story for what's essentialy a FPS, a jaw-droppingly beautiful atmosphere and interesting characters and Verbinski is a very talented director.

Gamers would all know the big plot twist, but non gamers would be just as surprised as the rest of us.

Sadly, I don't think it will ever happen. Its just too risky for the studio and the track record of video game adaptations is nearly 100% failures. They couldn't make Warcraft profitable, so I doubt a big-budget R rated Bioshock is a safe bet for studios.

Sort:  

That must be how Universal Studios think of it. It's great as a video game, yes, but adapting it into a movie as great won't be as easy as telling Jack to do shit just by saying "would you kindly", as most game adaptations we know.

But let's say Verbinski successfully make a BioShock movie that don't fail, I agree with you--non gamers would drop their jaws I'm sure of it.
I do feel kinda nervous(?)... and doubt too about this, but there's still a small part of me that want a BioShock movie to happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.21
ETH 2441.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68