You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nintendo was backed into a corner and the Switch was their only option. Here's why it was a home run.

in #gaming6 years ago

Handheld gaming always has skewed much younger than consoles, and a big part of the Gameboy/DS/3DS market is games aimed at kids as distractions and babysitters. With the saturation of phones and cheap tablets that can play free or cheap games that kids love, the handheld gaming market was naturally going to have to adapt. I really don't think there's room left for a standalone handheld game console today -- the other options are too cheap and convenient.

The Switch solves that problem though. It can be a portable, or it can be a home console, or it can be both. And parents don't have to buy their kids multiple systems with separate game libraries. One console, one game library = happy parents.

Sort:  

I agree but I am still fond of the previous handhelds as well. But what can I say I still have my very first atari from back in the day too :)

Oh, I agree with that too. I collect various Game Boy, GBA and DS models. I like dedicated handheld gaming, but I think that unfortunately the influx of cheap or free apps available on tablets and phones are replacing handhelds. Its hard to argue the need for a $100+ handheld system with $30+ games when you can give your kid a $60 tablet with access to countless free games.

Nice to hear you still have your Atari. Me and my wife still have our original Ataris too. Its crazy that I can still fire up the same console I played when I was 6 and it still works like a charm.

That's so true. Most of my grandkids are busy downloading more games onto their tablets whenever they come over to visit. Gameboy was great for long car rides sometimes though. But, I still like my Atari asteroids :) Great that you both are keeping Atari alive :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85