Meze 73 Classics Headphones Review - Rerez

in #gaming7 years ago

I was contacted by a company to review a pair of their headphones. When they asked me if I’d be interested I told them I don’t typically review headphones on my gaming channel. But this company insisted I take a look at their product because they believed their headphones were really good for gamers. And let me tell you they were right.

Capturey.PNG

I’m a big fan of headphones and I use them all the time when I’m playing video games. To me headphones are the best way to hear the audio from your games. I have a pair that I’ve been using for a while. I didn’t break the bank on them but they’ve been doing the job. But this company Meze sent me a set that they said would be better than the set I’ve been using. So I’m going to be taking a look at the Classic 73, a set of headphones that cost significantly more than my budget set but they promise to a whole lot better.

Captureing.PNG

The first thing I did when putting these headphones to the test was listening to the soundtrack to Earthbound. Earthbound’s soundtrack has a lot of rich textures that I thought might sound exceptionally good with this headset. And I was right. There’s a much warmer and fuller sound. Definitely an improvement in sound quality. The next thing I did was I played a whole bunch of video games with them. Indie games like Papers, Please, some older first person shooters like Rise of the Triad and a bunch of new first person shooters and games that in general had really loud sounds. I was able to distinguish a bunch of different sounds that I’d been unable to hear before with my cheaper headset or even the speakers on my television. Headphones like these really target what you’re supposed to be listening to and make the experience crisper and more precise. The one downside is there isn’t a microphone attached to the headset. But I was okay with that because while I do use microphones to talk in online games sometimes I was able to use a microphone built into my web cam. However if you are a gamer who needs a microphone on your headphones than these aren’t the set for you.

Capture.PNG

One thing I really like about these headphones is there’s a lot of padding over the headband and ear cups. This is important because you will be wearing these for long stretches and comfort is important. These headphones feel really good on the ears and head without feeling really tight. Comparing these against my current headphones the difference is noticeable. After wearing my old set for about two hours it becomes obvious they’re pressing my ears in and they start to hurt my head. But I do have a gripe that the ear cups on the Meze headset aren’t wide enough to fit completely around your ear. I find it more comfortable when headphones can encompass your ears without pressing up against them. Another thing to be aware of is that although the size of the headband is adjustable it doesn’t extend very far. So if you have an exceptionally large head these may not work for you. What I do like about the construction of these headphones is the flexibility of them. You can flex the headband a great deal and it won’t snap which I’ve had happen to me with other headphones. Another notable thing about the construction of these is the outer ear cups are made of wood. Now this looks really cool and I don’t know but it might even contribute to the warm sound you get out of these.

Captured.PNG

These are quality headphones and if you’re an audiophile and really care about the quality of sound you're getting from your games, or you just like the look of them, then you might want to check them out.


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

260 US$! Not bad? Do you think quality/price is good?

the design looks solid and they look amazing , i know the company make s great head phones

wow! Its really an awesome headphones.My friends already use this headphone.

That's some pretty cool looking design. Good review as well :)

@followback is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @followback and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Geri Takibe Geri Takip Yapıyorum ve takip edenlerin içeriklerini, organik olarak paylaşıyorum. Geri Takip İçin Hesabım: @followback

Hmmm...i see some incredible promotion and experience you made on this headphone. Am a fan of good sound and beats especially when i listen to my musics. Sure with this description am pretty sure its awesome sure having a wooden outter ear cups, am convinced its a nice one because i have used a similar made. Thanks for the info and sure if seen in my location ,i will give it a try so i get convinced too🖒🖒

Amazing design! best of luck dear @rerez

The shape reminds me somewhat of the audio technica ath-es7 I used to own. Very interesting!
Good post mate, shall you be interested, I'm sharing my insights on the new VR technologies introduces at CES2018 :)
Giving you a follow

Although I don't prefer closed-back headphones since they make my ears sore. These headphones are absolutely gourgeous and that warmer sound must be really nice for retro titles.

damn these are some very nice headphones!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48