Rainbow Six Siege - First impressions on Dokkaebi

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hello there, Steemit community!

On Sunday 19th November 2017, Ubisoft revealed the 3 new operators in the R6 Pro League Finals stream, before the game commenced. Thousands were shown the breakdown of the 2 South Korean and the one Polish attacker. The next day marked the new season for the Technical Test Server (TTS) as the operators and the map was available to try out. As soon as it became available, I made sure to come back from school, dump my bag and jump on the new season to get my first thoughts on the season.

This post will focus on my initial thoughts on the South Korean attacker, Dokkaebi, a hacktivist who's ability is to exploit the enemies' phones to her advantage.  

Fun Fact: Dokkaebi's name is inspired from the mythical creature in Korean Folklore

"Dokkaebi (Korean: 도깨비) are legendary creatures from Korean mythology and folklore. Dokkaebi, also known as Korean goblins, possess extraordinary powers and abilities that are used to interact with humans, at times playing tricks on them and at times helping them"  - Wikipedia

Dokkaebi's ability - Logic bomb

Dokkaebi's main ability is the Logic bomb, a Military laptop that has 2 main features:

  1. It can be used to call the enemies' phones, emitting a loud ring, which she can use to track players down
  2. If an enemy is killed, they drop their phone, which can be hacked for her (and all the attackers) to access the defenders' cameras

All these make her a potent attacker as she can disrupt enemies and give her team the upper hand.

Dokkaebi's Weapons

Primary- MK14

One word to describe my thoughts on this gun? Overpowered. As soon as I got my hands on the rifle, I instantly fell in love with it. Now, I am usually a sucker for DMRs (Designated Marksman Rifle), but the low recoil, moderate damage and high firerate make this gun, in my opinion, really strong.

Here is the recoil pattern for the rifle. Notice its accuracy when aiming down sight.

Primary- BOSG.11

This shotgun is available in both Korean operators and works mechanically different to the other shotguns in the game. This is because it is firstly, double barrel, meaning that it only holds 2 shells. But the more significant difference is that it fires a slug rather than a spray of pellets. This means that it's damage and range is much higher (the damage stat is now the highest on record for any gun, primary or secondary). 

Here is the recoil pattern (well, all there is to show is the 2 slugs fired) 

Secondary - C75 Auto

This machine pistol is one of the 2 options for Dokkaebi's secondary weapons. It's damage and recoil are both moderate and is a good option to when your primary weapon is out of ammo or its mag is emtpy.

The recoil could be better, but it isn't as bad as its counterpart (I'll get on that next). 

Secondary - SMG-12

This is the second option for secondary and is very similar to the SMG-11 (well, duh, the name is literally the same except for 12 instead of 11). Personally, I'm quite on the fence on which weapon out of the 2 to pick! 

But I must admit, the recoil is much more uncontrollable and inconsistent, which pushes me towards the C75 more.

Additional Gadgets

Claymore -  Helps to stop roamers and flankers in their track as the trap explodes as soon as an enemy is detected by the lasers

Smoke Grenade (x2) - Obscures vision and allows attackers to hide or reduce intel for defenders. 

Synergies & Counters

Synergies -  

  • IQ can aid in searching out any phones dropped for Dokkaebi to hack.
  • Jackal can track down roamers and isolate them to get a cell phone and use defender cams.

Counters

  • Echo is immune to her hacking due to their history of collaboration, thus familiar with her Logic Bomb. This makes him a notable counter against her. Similarly his drone is unaffected to the hack of a cell phone.
  • Mute's Signal Disruptor will render a Defender immune to the Logic Bomb when the hacking occurs if the said Defender located near one.
  • Thatcher's emp grenades might take out the cameras and make them unusable to the attackers.

Here is Ubisoft's stream reveal of Dokkaebi ( the end was cut off slightly, sorry about that!)


And that's all on The new attacking South Korean operator, Dokkaebi. Generally, I really like the concept and playstyle of Dokkeabi - a disruptive intel attacker that hacks devices to gain the upper hand. Will I play her? Most likely, her gun kit and her gadgets are enjoyable to use and her 2 speed 2 armor setup gives her both mobility and defense

What do you guys think? Let me know in the comments below, she is still a new operator, so it will be really interesting to see your opinions on Dokkaebi.

If you like this post, be sure to upvote and support me! The feedback and reception of my posts have been overwhelming for me. I expected for my blog to stay low and quiet, but it seems that some larger authors have taken note of my work, to which I really appreciate.

Thanks for reading,

Riyad/Rags

Sources

Sort:  

Great post dude. I played this game when it was free and really enjoyed it. Check out my latest post if you can.

Thanks! I've been a fanatic of the game since its beta and bought it on day 1! It's one of the best and longest lasting purchases I have bought (in terms of multiplayer games) as it has always given me loads of great (and some bad) memories between me, the game and my friends that I'll never forget!!

I'm already looking at your newest post, don't worry ;)

Thank you dude I think I might get this game again it's really awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50