You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indie Games

in #gaming7 years ago

I don't go on the gaming tag that often anymore so thank god @gaming-trail discovered your post ! Steam Greenlight was a good idea on paper but in reality it got abused by communities voting for each other's game resulting in all these half-baked games that are now available on the store. It still helped putting the light on some games I would have never heard of without it though, I hope Steam Direct will achieve something good. As with any form of art, there will always be more bad creations than good ones, but seeing masterpieces getting released makes me almost forget about all these other bad games. You hit me right in the heart by talking about indie games as I am an absolute lover of them. Good ideas nearly never come from AAA developers but from indie developers. An indie developer does what he loves to do regardless of what the gamers will think of it, even if it's a crazy idea, an AAA developer does what he thinks is going to sell well, therefore limiting the games to mechanics that are already known by most gamers. This is obviously an overstatement as I don't believe it to be true for every case but it seems to me like it when looking at the majority of each kind of developer. It's very late right now here (4 am) so some of what I said may not make sense, if that's the case it's just my mind acting up on me, sorry :P I'll toss a @randowhale vote in tomorrow if I see the payout isn't over 1$. I see you are new by the way so welcome on Steemit ! I followed you because of the quality you already put in your posts, keep making good posts ! :D

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words!

I completley agree. Indie developers put heart and soul into their creations, driving innovation. Once that innovation has been seen, accepted, and iterated on, AAA studios are then comfortable adopting those ideas and polishing them for mass appeal. I believe that all parts of the industry are equally important, and definitely do not think that AAA games are evil by nature. After all, the market (i. e. people) decide what they want and are willing to pay for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61498.89
ETH 2962.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49