5 Indie Games You Should Definitely Check Out #1

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

header

As an indie game lover, I have played a lot of them, whether they were famous or not. In this serie of posts that I plan to make on a regular basis, I'd like to introduce you to some games you may not know of every week. This is the very first post of them all so I decided to have no specific theme for the games presented. In the future, I plan to make posts centered on one genre at a time. Be sure to tell me what you want to see next in the comments down below ! I hope you'll appreciate it !

  • Gunman Clive

Available on Microsoft Windows | Wii U | Nintendo 3DS | Apple iOS | Android
Genres : Action, Platform
Price on Steam (currently) : 1.99€

Gunman Clive is a die and retry game that some people would compare to Megaman in its way of being played. Three actions are possible : shooting, jumping and crouching. What makes this game different is its art style, indeed, what you'll see on the screen while playing will be mostly some kind of brown, only enemies will appear in another color. Another game, Gunman Clive 2, is also available if you are interested. Sadly, you will only need between 1 and 2 hours to complete it, but it will unlock a very fun secret playable character.
  • Puddle

Available on Microsoft Windows | Mac | Linux | Xbox 360 | Playstation 4 | Playstation 3 | Playstation Vita | Wii U | Android
Genres : Puzzle, Simulation, Platform
Price on Steam (currently) : 6.99€

The concept of Puddle is simple, moving some kind of liquid from the start to the end of each level. If you lose too much percentage of your liquid, you lose. Depending on the liquid, it will react differently with stuff on your way like fire or acid. The gameplay is easy to master too, to move the liquid around, you have to tilt the screen. But don't think a simple gameplay means a simple game because the liquid percentage limit will make you sweat when you can't make any more mistakes !
  • Q.U.B.E: Director's Cut

Available on Microsoft Windows | Linux | Xbox One | Playstation 4 | Playstation 3 | Playstation Vita | Wii U | Android
Genres : First Person, Puzzle
Price on Steam (currently) : 1.49€ 5.99€

Q.U.B.E: Director's Cut is to be seen as a remaster of the first Q.U.B.E game but better thanks to a narrative side added to it. Even though the narration is week, it still helps us go through every room. You are equipped with special gloves that can interact with colored blocks in your surroundings to either retract them or make them go forward. Depending on the color of the block, it will act a different way, the blue block is a bounceable surface for example. All in all, it's a solid puzzle game that you should definitely try if you like games like Portal and The Talos Principle.
  • SinaRun

Available on Microsoft Windows | Mac | Linux
Genres : Racing, Parkour
Price on Steam (currently) : 1.72€ 2.30€

SinaRun is a project I started to follow early when it was introduced on some video game making forums. The whole point of the game is to get the best time on each level (run, jump and get to the end), there aren't that many levels but they are all well made and fun to play. If you've ever played inMomentum, it's a very similar concept. The graphics are very minimalist, it might scare away some of you but I personnaly prefer it as I can focus more on the action and less on the details.
  • The Beginner's Guide

Available on Microsoft Windows | Mac | Linux
Genres : Story Rich, Walking Simulator
Price on Steam (currently) : 3.59€ 7.99€

After the success of The Stanley Parable, its maker made another beautiful game that had less success : The Beginner's Guide. In this contemplative game, you jump from game to game discovering the art of a mysterious game maker. All of that narrated by someone who knew him. As you keep on playing, you learn more and more about the relation between the narrator and the mysterious game maker and what has happened to him. A masterpiece that deserves to be at least as popular as the previous game from its maker.

All the games presented in this post were tested by myself. If you don't believe me, search for them on my Steam library

If you liked this post and you want to see more, don't forget to upvote, follow and resteem !
I'd gladly take your advices on how I could make these posts better so if you have any idea, be sure to share it in the comments down below !

Sort:  

No problem :) Thanks to you for checking it out. Don't hesitate to suggest a specific genre if you have any idea !

I found your post through @arcange and I liked it a lot. Followed.

Thanks, I hope you will enjoy the next one that I'll make tomorrow about mobile indie games ;)

nice info! i will try that out

Thanks ! Glad you enjoyed it !

Nice post. But I would suggest if you could do a post on the best games on mobile phones platform.

Thanks, that's interesting, I'll see what I can do. I'm not that much into phone games but I guess now is a good time to get into it.

Well for that case, I'm into mobile games. If you need any help, I'm there to help you. 😉😉

This is a great! Well written, well formated and great choices for games!

Great post! Would you mind if I included it in todays "best of gaming"?

Thanks a lot, I wouldn't mind at all :)

Hey, nice list! The Beginner's Guide sounds really interesting. I will definitely look into that.
I also made a game with a friend of mine. It's a VR game for the HTC Vive for two players. You can check it out: VR Dungeon

Hey, thanks ! I just checked your game out, it sounds like fun. Made me think about Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes in the way the co-op takes place, and that's the best way to have co-op in a VR game in my opinion. Anyway, now I'm talking too much lol, good luck with your next projects !

Hope I can do that! Will try it. Nice read!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38