What is Pictopix?

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello and welcome to @qzsg game review series. This is the very first of many game reviews to come.
Games seldom impress me enough to write about them, so you can be sure my reccomendations can't go wrong.

What is Pictopix?

http://pictopix.tomlabgames.com/Pictopix_files/logo-pictopix-1200x630.png

Description

Pictopix is a puzzle game where you use logic to color squares on grids in order to reveal pictures. Easy to learn and very addictive, the game starts with small grids and ends with much bigger grids. With over 150 colored puzzles, a shuffle mode and a puzzle editor, Pictopix will bring you hours of fun!

The above description comes direct from Pictopix's Press Kit, but let's explain it a tad further and better shall we?

I am sure everyone knows or have played Sudoku before? Well, Pictopix is similar only in the sense that it is also a grid based puzzle and the fact that it too originates from Japan. Pictopix is a game about puzzles known as nonograms, or by their more well known names Griddlers or Picross. The thing that makes it addictive, at least to me is the fact that every puzzle, no matter how big or small, can be solved through logical deduction and reasoning, yes just like sudoku, you can of course solve one by guessing, but where is the fun in doing that? Most puzzles usually come either with a known theme of the completed puzzle or even the names of the completed object, given solvers a sense of what the end product should be.

Back story

I have been in love with puzzles like Sudoku and Nonograms ever since I was a kid. My love for nonograms started ever since I started playing Picross 2 on the venerable Game Boy released by Nintendo back in 2001 ( I know it was released in 1995 or 1996 , I only got the cartidge in 2001 ).

http://retrogamingmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Picross-2-Nintendo-Game-Boy-retro-retrogaming-puzzle-3.jpg

There have been multiple iterations of Picross over the years , I guess its popularity only began with Picross DS, what better way to solve a picross puzzle than using a touchscreen? With latest iterations spinning of to other Nintendo franchises like the free to play Pokemon Picross for the 3DS as well as My Nintendo Picross: The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess , an exclusive reward for My Nintendo members.

http://images.nintendolife.com/games/3ds-eshop/pokemon_picross/cover_large.jpg
Source: Nintendo Life

http://images.nintendolife.com/screenshots/76225/large.jpg
Source: Nintendo Life

I have tried to look for nonogram puzzle games for desktop computers, there have been many flash alternatives on sites like Armor Games as well as a whole slew of web based nonogram puzzle sites like http://www.puzzle-nonograms.com/. Despite the wide variety of options, they never seem to give me enough kick to use them for anything more than a few puzzles. On the contary, finding nonogram games on mobile devices is super easy, with many developers trying to capitalise on the nonogram niche games in the Apple app store as well as Google Play store.

If you own an android like me, look no further than Cross Me Nonogram, its one of the best on the Play Store, the same developer also has them made for iOS devices too.

Back to the main review

Back in January, I was game surfing through the Steam Store as usual after my monthly payday, Pictopix appeared under my reccomended queue. I know, Steam's queue system isn't always good, their reccomendations are usually full of either trash or AAA games just released. That one time, I was pleasantly surprised. I looked at the screenshots , and the trailer, looks good enough for me, not that there were many Steam nonogram-esque games. Checks price - $6.99 USD , if it was as good as I think it is, it would have been worth my money, or more aptly my bitcoins.

http://pictopix.tomlabgames.com/Pictopix_files/screenshot03.jpg

Why buy the game?

Ok ok finally we reached this portion of the review. If you have come this far and you are a fan of puzzle games, you would probably have googled and bought the game for yourself.

Pros of Pictopix

  • Super polished game - the developer just keeps adding features to the game.
  • User Made Puzzles - Back when I bought the game, there was no workshop support, within a month, steam workshop was integrated, allowing users to upload their own created puzzles, adding thousands of possible hours of gameplay to the game.
  • Smooth Difficulty Curve - 3 Modes of difficulties from easy to expert mode, puzzles start from easy baby 5x5 grid puzzles to 25x25 more diffucult puzzles
  • Good tutorial - Provides tutorials to teach you the basic skills to solve puzzles as well as advanced nonogram solving technics.
  • Price tag - I mean it only costs 0.002586 BTC at the time of this review, and Steam accepts bitcoins through bitpay too! XD

http://pictopix.tomlabgames.com/Pictopix_files/grid_umbrella.gif

Cons of Pictopix
I have to write something here or it will seem like I am biased ain't it?

  • No color puzzles - Many users were sad that contary to the screenshots, there are no color nonograms, only the final result is colored once you solve a puzzle. Maybe some day support will be added but I highly doubt so, then again, who knows?
  • Free alternatives - Well some of the steam reviews have users grumbling about how they paid $6.99 USD for a game that can be gotten elsewhere for free, I beg to differ but well the money belong to them, they have the right to complain, for me I just want to support good devs and my favorite puzzles.

Still not convinced?

Well I mean if you are not really a fan of puzzles, why are you here?

Just kidding, come on! Give the free demo on Kongregate a spin , if you like it and want more, buy the game for more including Steam Workshop support for even more puzzles! Kongregate Demo Pictopix.

Want to see a let's play? I kinda recorded me playing some of the puzzles, but without any commentary though. Check it out below!

Can't wait to buy

You can purchase Pictopix on various platforms.

StoreLinkPriceNotes
SteamLink$6.99 USDSteam Key Only
Humble StoreLink$6.99 USDSteam + DRM free versions

TL:DR;

Pictopix is a uber fun nonogram game on Steam that provides hours of endless fun along with a comfortable difficulty for both newbies and seasoned veterans alike.

@qzsg Rating: 9/10

Bloody Fantastic Nonogram Puzzler

Like my reviews? Follow me for more! Upvote and leave your comments on how to improve my review or any games you want me to review.See you guys on my next review!

Sort:  

I was wondering why your name felt familar, I finally remembered when I saw your introduce myself with some random cat picture haha, the game seems fun, I will check it out on Steam. :D

Looks like the game will be fun to play! Thnks for the revew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36