Nintendo announces SNES classic with previously unreleased Star Fox 2

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)




Kotaku.com source *
Nintendo announced that the SNES Classic will come with the previously-unreleased Star Fox 2. Were you surprised? Imagine how the game’s original programmer Dylan Cuthbert feels.

During the 1990s, Q-Games founder Dylan Cuthbert cut his teeth at Nintendo, programming the first Star Fox, which did come out, and the sequel, which did not. A playable version of Star Fox 2 was shown in 1995 at the Winter CES, but the finished game vanished into the ether.

According to Cuthbert, Star Fox 2 was canned because the PlayStation and the Sega Saturn had upped the bar for 3D graphics. “Our older retro form of 3D just didn’t cut it anymore and Nintendo didn’t want to raise comparisons,” said Cuthbert. “I agree that strategically (if not emotionally) it was the correct decision. But now our older retro form of 3D is the new cool kid on the block, it’s perfect timing!”



The frame rate might not be a smooth 60 fps, Cuthbert said, but he explained that Star Fox 2 changes with each play. “I hope people don’t think they cleared the game with just one playthrough! In that sense, it is a very unique game.”

Okay, let's discuss,

It was 1991, Holiday... I sat there as a 13 year old kid wondering "will i get the SNES i had desired greatly this year?"
All the presents had been opened.. I sat there bummed out secretly with a half fake smile on enjoying what toys I did get(selfish, i know). That's when my dad told me he thought there was one more, but couldn't quite find it... I searched and searched and searched until he threw me a catch with the ball and it went behind the TV....

There it was, sitting in all of its' glory. It was the SNES Super Mario World Box Set that I had been wanting!
I will never forget that moment, it was one of the best gifts I have received to date.


Fast forward to 2017, you have nearly realistic graphics, virtual reality, and unlimited amounts of online multiplayer games... But SNES still holds a special key to my heart. Titles like "Earthbound, Final Fantasy II, Chrono Trigger, Secret of Mana, Zelda: A link to the past, Megaman series.. these were just a very small fraction of the amazing titles that were released on SNES. When the SNES classic was announced.. I was surprised to hear about Starfox 2. With some of the best titles SNES has to offer, the price point on the SNES classic is amazing and very affordable. This will be a true holiday treat in 2017, for new generations, old generations, and even the ones who may have missed out on this gem. You could say I am looking forward to this released, GREATLY.

-Plunkzilla

Sort:  

I have serious hype for playing Star Fox 2. I think it's fun how they've added it as an unlock in Star Fox 1 on the system, making just beating Corneria the requirement should be easy mode for any fans of the series. I know I completed 2/3 of the main routes in the original game, can't remember if I ever got the third knocked out but I'm excited to try again on something that'll look and feel like the real thing. Definitely going to try and catch the SNES classic as soon as pre-orders open up!

I am SO stoked. With the let downs this year at E3, i'm pumped this will be out for the holiday.

Eh, there were some letdowns for sure but I'm still excited for what Nintendo is bringing to the table with Switch. Even if low on content... just the announcement a new Metroid Prime and a legit Pokemon game are in the works for Switch is good to get confirmation on. I'm looking forward to playing Splatoon2, Super Mario Odyssey, and Yoshi for sure though.

Yeah... but not even like a screenshot teaser for the new Metroid? Just a title screen!! That was lame! Mario+Rabbids looks pretty cool, and Skyrim for switch, Splatoon 2, Odyssey, etc. There is still hope! They just need to stop making JRPGs and make some of the favorite titles!

Ok... VALID lol. I'm happy to even know something is just happening at all when it comes to Nintendo sometimes... especially considering how disappointing the Pokemon Direct announcement right before E3 was. Hopefully we'll see Smash happen soon, I'd also like to see Mario Party... or hell... F Zero?! A new F Zero game would be legit... it's been over a decade now right?

Congratulations @plunkzilla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @plunkzilla! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64