Tales of the worlds of Warcraft - An introduction

in #gaming7 years ago

This is an introduction post about my journey into the worlds of Warcraft. It has been written before the release of Legion. I figured if I was going to write about my gaming experiences, this introduction would have to be shared first, before I continue onto newer things. I hope you enjoy my journey!

World of Warcraft

I started WoW on my own account when The Burning Crusade hit. I was already a little bit familiar with the game, having my own warrior and priest on my brother’s account.
Back then, all I wanted to play was a priest. A shadow priest to be precise. You see, back when I was playing on my brother’s account, there was this big, bad cave up in the Redridge Mountains. My poor little warrior princess was supposed to go into that cave for some kind of quest.
Now I don’t regularly enjoy ingame caves all that much, so I did not feel like going in there. Right when I was about to embark on my heroic journey, this big, shadowy blob ran past me. Well, I had never seen such a shadowy blob before in my life! I was intrigued. This shadowy blob started murdering its way right into the cave, so when I followed, there were no more baddies waiting for me around the corner. The blob of shadows had gone on a rampage and cleared a nice path for my warrior to run in and complete this, otherwise quite perilous, quest.

As you may understand, I had to find out more about shadowy blobs; how could I become one of them? This is how I found my main class for my long journey through the worlds of Warcraft: The shadow priest!

During The Burning Crusade, I did quite a lot of raiding on my nightelf shadow priest. I worked my way up into the best raiding guild of the server and had many great challenges there.
When Wrath of the Lich King hit, I joined one of my friends on the horde side. I made myself a bloodelf priest, got boosted to max level and then I got boosted by my guild in Naxxramas. This was right around the time when Ulduar opened its doors.
Oh the many challenges we faced in there! I have to say that to this day, Ulduar is still my favorite raid of all time. We had a good time there and with our 10-man group, we managed to beat it all on hardmode, which rewared us with an awesome mount! Oh the horrors of fire kiting and all the times we wiped on Algalon. But how awesome it was to see his big, bad attack while dispersed.

Sadly, during the Icecrown Citadel days, our numbers started to dwindle. We couldn’t fill a 25-man raid anymore and soon, even 10-man was hard at times. That’s when I eventually joined a new guild. It was fun for a while, but I missed my old guild and soon I started to play less. I played a few months during Cataclysm, but I did not have a raiding guild anymore. Didn’t have the time for it either!

Sadly, without the challenge of hardcore raiding, I lost interest. I started playing Guild Wars instead. Had a lot of fun with Guild Wars 2 aswell. Now that I’ve returned to WoW, it’s been fun to revisit old places. I had to figure out a lot of stuff all over again and I’m pretty sure I still don’t know most of the new things from this expansion.

Garrison was new! It was interesting exploring that. At some point, I had a great team of followers to make me a ton of gold with all the bonuses on gold missions. It was basically the most important reason for me to keep moving back to Garrison. I’m so sad now that they’ve taken these mission out of the picture.

Now the last patch (pre-Legion patch) has also made some changes to the honor system. As in, there is no more honor. When my priest hit 100, I did a lot of Ashran, gathered a lot of honor and this way, got myself a decent set of gear. Now that my mage is 100, it’s not that easy anymore. There are these tokens, which you have to gain and trade for gear. The first time she did Ashran, I played most of the morning and got only one token. I thought this would take ages! Yesterday went a bit better though. I’m not sure how I feel about this yet.

Oh, there’s also been a change to shadow priests. A pretty big one. I’m sad.. My dps wasn’t that great to begin with, but with this change, it’s been reduced even further. I wasn’t quite that happy after my break to begin with. Noticing a shadow priest can hardly aid in the healing anymore. This last patch made me like the new playstyle even less.
Besides the changes to shadow, discipline gained a big overhaul aswell. I’ve decided I’ll put learning this spec on hold untill Legion hits.

As much as it saddens me to say, I might make my mage my new main in Legion. Lately I just can’t seem to enjoy the priest anymore. My survivability on the mage is quite poor, compared to the priest. I’m not sure if this is to do with the classes, or with my knowledge of them. Either way, it’s still more fun to play at the moment.

I’m curious to see how things will turn out when Legion hits. I’m not sure if it’ll be interesting enough to keep me p(l)aying. We will see. For now, I’ll just focus on my mage, play some Ashran and battleground, and ofcourse continue my obsession with collecting all the pets, mounts, toys and recipes.

And that last part, I did. I am currently still collecting pets, mounts and toys. Besides some other tales, I'm thinking of writing up some posts about what to collect and where. I'm not sure if there's much of a gamers community on Steemit though, so any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated!


Originally posted on my foodblog.
My Deviantart image used as a header for my blog posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06