SWTOR - The free to play game that you don't want to play for free

in #gaming7 years ago

I'd like to tell you about my little adventure into this free to play Star Wars game and explain to you why I don't think you want to play it 'free to play'.

Star Wars The Old Republic is an MMO which is free to play. All you have to do is create an account and download and install the game. It is set in, you guessed it, the universe of Star Wars.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_19_59_38_999123.jpg

My boyfriend wanted to play this and I promised him we'd try it once I got my new pc, so once I had it, I installed the game and we started playing it.

I created my character the closest to a ranged spell caster I could find, gave her a nice redish hair color and off we were.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_20_04_27_001666.jpg

My boyfriend used to enjoy the game for its story, which is why he wanted to try it again. I'm usually not one to pay close attention to the story in an MMO, so that didn't really appeal to me.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_20_29_03_262752.jpg

After a little while, I started getting the hang of a few of my skills and I even managed to hit a few enemies, before they died at my boyfriend's hands.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_20_47_54_736382.jpg

We visited the first quest hub and ran around here for a while, doing a couple of quests. The map was really confusing to me at first, so I often didn't know where to go, or where my boyfriend was.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_21_26_29_039480.jpg

Some surroundings look pretty nice, though the graphics can't really compete with games like Guild Wars 2 or Black Desert Online, which, granted, require a one time purchase. (Though the Guild Wars 2 core game is free to play now I think and Black Desert really doesn't cost that much)

Screenshot_2017-06-23_21_35_02_357547.jpg

Here's the kicker though: while playing the completely free to play version of the game, you hardly have any bagspace at all and you apparently don't have a storage either. So after a few hours of playing, I hardly had any space left and that was while visiting a vendor whenever I could.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_21_45_15_787815.jpg

Having no storage kind of makes any game unplayable for me. So basically, this means you'll have to make some kind of purchase and it seems that people recommend a package that's about 5 or 6 dollars. That's fine if you're really into Star Wars and enjoy the game a lot. I did not reach that level of enjoyment though, so I probably won't be playing it again.

Screenshot_2017-06-23_21_54_27_788229.jpg

It was a short ride, but it's not a game worth exploring for me. Instead, I'll spend some more time getting frustrated with Black Desert Online, while trying to figure out how the game works. It currently annoys me to no end, but for now, it's managing to hold my interest.

More on that subject later!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |


Want to satisfy your creative needs?Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

Sort:  

i am a fan of star wars, will check the game out, the environment looks cool, its a pity you didnt get to enjoy the game,lol.

I'm not a massive mmo player. But I know the problems when running out of inventory space. Very annoying.

Sounds similar to my own experience. I would have enjoyed it more had I been playing with a friend.

Yeah, that wasn't enough for me to enjoy it sadly. New games are quite confusing sometimes and combined with lack of inventory space, I just get annoyed :D

I played the first two non-MMO's Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (KOTOR) and KOTOR 2. I highly recommend them for any Star Wars fan that enjoys a great story line and RPG's.

Maybe I'll have to ask my boyfriend if he ever played them! I don't think I'd enjoy them as much, as I'm not a big Start Wars fan. I like the movies, but that's about it :-)

Irrelevant fact: I always want to pronounce the name of that one as "Sweater".

Haha that's genious! I don't think I can now stop thinking about that when I see the name :D

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68