Surviving in Ark - A new beginning

in #gaming7 years ago

Recently, I have decided to give Ark another try. So far, I'm very much enjoying myself.

ARK: Survival Evolved is a survival game in which you get dropped on an island with nothing but your underwear. This island is very pretty, but it is filled with dinosaurs. Some of these are quite friendly, while others would like nothing more than to eat you.

I've played this game before on a private server with my boyfriend and three of his friends. The two of us eventually claimed our own little (deserted) island and we build a big house with a greenhouse closeby. We also had two ships, two big birds to fly on and, ofcourse, I had filled the island with dodo's, because they're cute.

We eventually moved onto other games and the server got shut down. I had been thinking about Ark again, lately, and my boyfriend told me it has a single player. I never knew that! So I started up single player and hoped I wouldn't get eaten.

I've been eaten twice, so far...

20170223142201_1.jpg

So this is how you start. Just look at that little slice of paradise! Sadly, character creation is very limited, so I do not have long hair. I also have crazy eyes. Well, I guess that fits a lady, right?

20170223142609_1.jpg

I started gathering some resources. You don't start out with tools, so you have to just... like... hit the tree. With your fists.

20170223142720_1.jpg

Gathering some berries to keep myself fed!

20170223143001_1.jpg

Yay, I made myself some clothes and tools now! Time to get some stone.

20170223143306_1.jpg

Some spots on the island spawn chests. These chests will stay there for a limited amount of time. I spotted my very first chest, so I ran towards it!

Level 15 required... yuck!

Alright, no chest. But hey, it's getting late. Let's set up a campfire and try to stay warm throughout the night.

20170223143915_1.jpg

The next day, I gathered some more materials. Turns out, close to where the chest was (and where I camped for the night) is a beautiful place to settle down.

It was time to build myself a hut!

20170223145828_1.jpg

Isn't it cosy? It's so low, I almost hit my head on the ceiling, but hey, it keeps me warm at night!

Time for some more exploring.

20170223151454_1.jpg

Ark lets you tame your own dinosaurs. The herbivores can be tamed by feeding them berries (sometimes you have to knock them out, first). This little lady could be tamed by letting her steal berries from my pocket. She was my very first dino!

She eventually got eaten by another dino...

20170224081420_1.jpg

My place at sunset. Isn't it pretty?

This is where I'll leave you. Stay tuned for more adventure in Ark, where I will be upgrading my house and showing my other dinosaur!


Sort:  

This game is awesome!!! I' ve been playing it for few monts and it was a love at first sight.
BTW. there is an update which allows growth of hair and facial hair over time (:

Oh my god, I didn't know that! I will have to look into that, thanks :D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very good blog. Good to see I'm not the only one that is thinking about this. Buy and hold for the upcoming 3 years and the blockchain market will find it's way. We do need to look better at the insights of every coin. What team is behind it, is there any management. How strong is the product, is there any product at all? Besides coinmarketcap.com there is: https://www.coincheckup.com They researched and analyzed every tradable coin out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45