Steam sales

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

It's Steam sales time!

This morning, I read an e-mail saying "9 items from your Steam wishlist are on sale!". Well that sounds good, doesn't it?

Some of these games were mostly in my list to keep an eye on them and maybe buy some day. Others were there because I definitely needed to buy them some day.

Skyrim: Special Edition

My boyfriend woke up and I told him about the sales. "Great! That means I will be the boyfriend who bought you Skyrim!" he said. And he proceeded to gift me the Skyrim Special Edition with 50% off.

I'm so happy with this one! I played Skyrim some time ago (a not so legal version of it) and it was an awesome game. I definitely wanted to play this again one day, but I was just waiting for a sale. I love my boyfriend for buying it for me!

Ark: Survival Evolved - Season Pass

Also on sale was the Ark: Survival Evolved Aberration expansion map. We aren't too exited about the map yet, because there are no flyers there. Flyers are our main source of transportation, because they make us feel safe. However, I'm sure we'll want to try the map some day, so my boyfriend did the smart thing and bought it while it's on sale.

He looked a bit further though and found the Season Pass was a few cents cheaper and it also involved the Aberration map! It also mentions it will give us access to a future Extinction map. So he got us the season pass instead of only the map expansion.

The Aberration DLC has just finished downloading, so I'll check it out soon. My boyfriend wants to know if adding this means we'll get access to the Aberration engrams on our current Ragnarok map aswell.

Edit: Still can't use Aberration engrams on the Ragnarok map (without editing server files).

Novus Inceptio

The last game we got is called Novus Inceptio. This looks to be the same sort of game as Ark, but from what I see in videos and screenshots, it might be a little more vivid in colors. There also aren't any dinosaurs.

It's an Early Access Game, which I haven't played before, but it'll mean it's still in development. I am looking forward to trying this game and see how it matches up against Ark. If I get around to playing it, I'll let you all know!

That's it for our new games today!

Have you bought any new games today?




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

okay....I bought literally yesterday CS:GO and today is in sale?! :) FML

Oh no! Have you played it yet? Are you still able to refund it?

i did for 3 hours :( so it is not

Would have been nice to have Steemit back in the day to help repair my pocketbook after a Steam sale.

Haha, yeah definitely!

Just keep us posted on how it goes @playfulfoodie

As an important word of advice - check if the titles you want to buy are not on sale at fanatical.com. This site is legit - they are owned by PC Gamer, if memory doesn't fail me - and if you use the voucher code, you'll probably get a cheaper price than directly through steam even during the sale price.

I will probably use the sale to buy some DLCs from titles I like, although Grim Dawn's DLC is not part of the sale.

Good to know pal

Aah I didn't know about that site, thanks for the heads up!

Thats awesome that your boyfriend bought you Skyrim :D I till haven't played this game yet, enjoy It.
ARK Is a game I really want to play but I know It's time consuming and I'm not mentally prepared for playing games of that capacity just yet. The pains of being a gamer and having too many games to play :D

Oh yes, I understand! Ark can be time consuming, but if you go for a private game, it can take as much or as little time as you want it to. If you're on a server, it'll keep running after you log out, so you'll have to worry about feeding your dinos. However, if you start your own, local game, the game will stop when you stop and dinos won't lose anything while you're not playing the game. In that way, you can take as much time as you need/want :-)

You're definitely not helping my cause to save money 😅 But thats good to know thanks.

Haha oops! Ofcourse, I mean that Ark is very time consuming. I mean, it is a great game to play, so it'll suck you in and take up all of your time ;-)

Yeah I assume 😅Its ok, I will get round to buying it at some point.

Nothing really jumps out at me in this sale, Im afraid. I miss the old days of steam sales where curated games were on sale each day.

Aww that's a shame! Maybe next time. I gotta say, I only really started using Steam in the last year or two, so I can't compare the sales now with how they used to be.

It is always good to be reminded of a Steam sale ... or is it?

Damn, better get my wallet and buy more games (that I may never play) .... YEAH!

Haha, yeah that's a very good point!

My library is filled with games I either bought cheap in bundles or from @ahmadmanga, or I won on steamgifts.com. Some are really worth a try but I always end up playing the same couple of games and ignoring the others.

I've never had a wishlist of anything, like on amazon or something like that. I always check back every now and then. It so happens that when I had the money to purchase some things recently, most of them were on special. It's always fun to find sales on and specials, because at least we save a few dollars. It all accumulates in the end.

Ooh really? I have wishlists on many sites! Not necessarily to wait for a sale (though that's always nice), but to remind myself of what I want to buy one day. It's mostly for books I still want to read :-)

Ah, yes, it can come in handy. I typically write a list or keep it in my head.

You will love skyrim! although I don't know if you will enjoy the outdated graphics. Either way, if you play on PC there are a lot of mods you can use to improve the graphics.

Besides, there are also mods that ADD content and new stories to the game. I even remember reading about a mod that was like a totally different game, don't remember its name but if you deep on google you should find it.

I have been waiting for a new elder scrolls for several years now... still waiting bethesda...

I used to love playing Skyrim and now that I have it again, I already played most of yesterday! The graphics are actually really awesome. Every setting is on highest and it runs really smoothly. I think this special edition has updated or modded graphics, though I'm really not sure what exactly the special edition brings to the table. I think the extra content is included aswell.

Oh nice! If its with updated graphics then it must look really good! What are your PC specs?

Aye! I'll be sure to share a post with some screenshots somewhere soon :D

Hmm, I don't know from the top of my head, so let me check... This is what CCleaner tells me:

I bought it last year with the idea that it will have to be able to run games nicely and also photo editing software. So far, it has been awesome!

P.S.: Happy I checked out your page just now. You seem to write great articles! Maybe not all in my immediate interest area, but some are and heck, I like supporting good writers. Following you now :-)

That’s a great pc indeed! And thanks for following me :D

Man, skyrim is an amazing game, especially when you start adding in mods. Ark has been on my wishlist for a while and when I saw it was 16 i decided I had to get it. Again it has some really great mods like pugnatia which adds conflagrant versions of the dinos that can do things like auto smelt your iron and stuff. Super excited about that one myself. But grats on the games you got, have lots of fun =)

Thanks! I haven't tried any mods for Ark yet, because I already very much enjoy the game as it is. Actually, I don't think I've ever used any mods in any game, besides adding extra skins to The Sims. That just made the game extra slow and buggy and I guess that's why I'm not too eager to add to other games.

Ah, well usually most mods dont do that, you can add a ton of mods to skyrim and it can actually increase performance lol. Plus there are some amazing QOL mods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06