Gaming - A regular day in Black Desert Online

in #gaming7 years ago

This was going to be my Good morning post, but all I've got is: It's grey outside. Lots of rain on the menu for today. Not to mention the rest of the week.

After that, I had nothing, so enjoy my little chat about Black Desert Online. The frustratingly complicated MMO.

I am currently fishing. Oh yes, fishing. It's not outside though, it's inside Black Desert Online.

2017-06-28_406707018.JPG

The game is still very much confusing to me, but at the very least I know how to fish. Turns out, you can also fish automatically, without having to do anything yourself. It just takes a couple of minutes extra per fish. So my character is now fishing while I'm writing this.

What I can do with the fish I catch? Well I have no clue honestly. For now, I just dry them and sell them at the marketplace. Can never hurt to have some extra silvers lying around, right? I want to get into cooking, but it requires some research, so I've put that on hold for a bit.

My current goal is to learn to repair my own gear from my own home. I basically have to talk to this blacksmith enough to make him like me loads and then he'll tell me his secrets! I'll get there today, not a problem. It's just a matter of gathering enough energy.

Energy was my goal yesterday. Many things (including gathering and making people like you) require energy. You only have a limited amount of it and it regrows one point every three minutes. Gathering requires one point and making npc's like you more requires anywhere from 2 up to 15 or more (I'm only at the starting area, so I'm not sure how high it will go). If you have a bed inside your house, you can lie on it and you'll regain energy twice as fast. Meaning yesterday was all about the furniture guy liking me enough to sell me a bed!

2017-06-28_406694729.JPG

I just drained my energy, talking to the blacksmith. However, I don't want to lie on the bed doing nothing, so instead, I'm fishing and regaining energy slower. No problem, I'm making some cash instead.

For some reason, all the frustration and complicatedness of Black Desert has not dettered me from playing any further yet. Part of it is because my boyfriend really wants to continue it. Another part is that it is so huge. Sure, I'm still casting random skills while fighting and yes, I hardly know anything about anything. We're slowly learning though and you can definitely lose yourself in any small part of the game. There's so much more to learn and so much to explore!

2017-06-27_363522380.JPG

I'm all for exploring new places, so I hope I'll get the hang of my skills a bit better and we'll explore more of Black Desert's world. Yesterday, we took a little trip to one of the major cities, after which we returned to the smaller town, our safe haven (for now), to continue learning, before we travel more.

The big city looked pretty awesome, though most of the game does. I didn't take enough screenshots of it yet, so here's just one from the little introduction movie.

2017-06-27_364953309.JPG

I'll get back there one day to show you more of this place. Before I do that though, I should show you the town we are currently staying in: Velia. It's where we are slowly learning more about the game. I will do so in a future post.


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

I thought about trying this game. It looks nice. But MMOs eat up too much time. I've fell in the trap too many times. But thanks for sharing. I hope you enjoy your adventure! I'm sure it will be a fun game!

Thank you! Yes, they do eat up a lot of time. WoW especially ate a lot of mine. I'm able to avoid that trap now though, also thanks to Steemit for keeping me busy in other ways. Somehow it's now easier for me to shut down the pc aswell.

I think Black Desert also allows you more time to rest if you want to do things like crafting, because it requires time. Either by regaining your energy or by the simple fact that your workers need time to do the things you tell them to.

@playfulfoodie, where do you get the time and energy to write all the blogs and play games too?. I get pretty exhausted writing sometimes. And you have time for games !!😊. I am never a hammer, I just came I to see the graphics. They look pretty cool. Definitely games have improved since those old days of Mario & packman.

Well, after I quit my job a few months ago to get over my burnout, I've mostly just been at home, so I've got a lot of time. On the one hand, writing posts for Steemit can still wear me down a bit if I'm not careful. On the other hand, I feel it's helping my brain stay active, atleast for a bit. I want to keep challenging it, even though it's nowhere near as challenged as it would be at work. Aside from that, I'm improving my writing skills and earning a bit on the side, so I atleast feel a bit useful while sitting at home without a job.

The games are completely for fun! And it is what I set out to write about as one of the main topics for this blog. Sometimes it's hard to come up with topics, but my "Good morning Steemit" posts help to keep me writing. The games also help to give me some topics!

The graphics in Black Desert are really amazing! This morning, I ran around this little town to take some screenshots for a post in the near future. They turned out amazing! I'm really impressed and I think I might need to do some extra picture tours through this game in the future :-)

@playfulfoodie I am amazed at your energy and patience in replying in length to me. I sincerely appreciate you taking your time for me.

I get exhausted in writing these blogs though I am just 9 days in steemit. I have become a zombie of sort now. Everything in sleep mode or semi conscious mode and mind is always on the next blog or story. I need a break now 😊 will go on a motorcycle ride soon.

That sounds like a great way to clear your mind! What I did at the start was create a file (paper works too) where I would write down all of my blog ideas. As long as I have something to write about, great! Otherwise, I take out this file and find a topic. It cleared my mind from my ideas and it helps me on slow days :-)

It is easy to get lost in Steemit blogging though. Taking breaks is great ^^

@playfulfoodie, that's a great idea to write down blog ideas 😊

I think I am different from most minnows here. I have about 7 blogs posted till now, but I have made a principle that I will never ask anyone to follow me nor upvote me nor resteem my blog. My blogs will never have those 3 words.

I just complete my story and leave it to reader. If they like it they will do as they please, follow, invite or resteem else no problem. I am cool.

I have 98 followers now. When it gets to 100 I will write a small post on that. You should check it out 😊. It is not a usual thank you post, but a little more intense when I take a few of my followers to task. Many are doing it the wrong way here and I want to tell them my thoughts about it. Let's see how it goes.

I'd love to read it! I can't promise you it won't get lost in my feed though (I miss a lot of posts that way), so if you happen to remember, give me a reminder please :D

I really dislike all the begging for follows and votes through comments and private messages. I have the words in my signature though, amongst many other words. I saw many people doing that in their signature, so I followed. It won't really make much difference though and lately I've been thinking of taking them out.

@playfulfoodie, one option is to just provide links to other blogs at the bottom and ask them to check out. If the blogs are any good, you have them following you. If they are not good then you are not worthy of following anyway 😊.

I bet Black Desert is running very smooth on your new computer! I've played Black Desert in the past. :)

It is indeed! I'm quite happy with it! The only problem I've encountered so far is lag and that's not a problem on my end :-)
Did you enjoy it? Why did you quit?

I did quit playing because I had not much time for it. But its a good game :)

Nice to reed this experince.keep it up and shear more.

Thank you so much, I definitely will :-)

nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49