Foodie thinking about streaming games

in #gaming7 years ago

I was planning a different post today!

I was going to say "Look at me, braving the cold and streaming Skyrim!", but then once I turned on the pc, I first checked out my mail, then I visited the gaming giveaway sites I sometimes get free games from and then, I checked the time.

Turns out, we're close to lunch time by now and I can't be making and eating lunch and streaming Skyrim at the same time!

20180316162616_1.jpg

So here I am, still without Skyrim on my other screen and figuring I'll just write a little about what I'm up to instead. In the meantime, I'm reminding my boyfriend that we will need to eat lunch soon, so he'll have to keep that in mind when playing Battlefield with its stupid long games.

I guess maybe I should just start up Skyrim soon anyway...

Yes, but without streaming, so I can take breaks to make lunch... maybe I'll stream later, otherwise some other day!

Wait, what was I going to talk about?

My brain feels all mushy. I was having clearer thoughts just a little while ago, honestly. It's because I was writing here and then my boyfriend and me started talking. It distracted me!

He wants to play The Elder Scrolls Online with me some day. He's played it before, but I never have. The thought frustrates me, because I'll have to start from scratch and learn and be slow, while he'll have high level characters and knows loads about the game! I like to start off on the same level of knowledge. Oh well.

I've also been thinking about World of Warcraft, ever since I tried streaming on Dlive. The thing with my Skyrim streams is that they are quite random. I don't know Skyrim well enough to say "Oh, I'll just go do this dungeon and I'll expect this difficulty level". It feels like there's no real beginning and ending. Especially the ending, because I don't always know when/where it ends! I don't have that with WoW. I've been addicted to that game long enough in the past to know it through and through. Sure, I don't know the latest dungeons and raids, but I know how the game works, so I can figure that out.

Yes, maybe I should play WoW again some day to make better streams. Though I could also stream some World vs World in Guild Wars 2. That was always loads of fun to do and I'd love to share the fun!

Basically what it comes down to is I just don't know what streams will be most interesting for others to watch. I could also try out any of the games in my big list of Steam games I have yet to try. Something like a "Discover this game with me" kinda stream. I think I'd need to talk though and I'm shy.

Well, any ideas or suggestions on this particular topic are much appreciated!

I think I should change the title of this post...

There, no longer 'Good afternoon Steemit', that title doesn't fit the current rant.

Anyway, I'll just start Skyrim and preheat the oven.




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |Patreon |

Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I suggest WvW in GW2, the game doesn't have a lot of representation here in steemit and it'll show one of the game's top features.

the game doesn't have a lot of representation here in steemit and it'll show one of the game's top features.

Good points! I guess I'll have to update the game soon and check back in :-)

I hope with The Elder Scrolls Online you'll still have some time to adventure in Skyrim lol.

The thing with my Skyrim streams is that they are quite random. I don't know Skyrim well enough to say "Oh, I'll just go do this dungeon and I'll expect this difficulty level". It feels like there's no real beginning and ending.

Recently getting back into Skyrim because of your posts and others, I debated streaming and this exact thought came up. I've decided to start writing a Skyrim Fiction to go parallel with my gameplay. Let's see how that goes..

I could also try out any of the games in my big list of Steam games I have yet to try. Something like a "Discover this game with me" kinda stream.

That format seems well to pull in new people looking for info about specific games as well as help show others what games you're into and currently trying. Whether you decide a new game, WoW, GW2, or whatever you play, I look forward to seeing more. Cheers!

I hope with The Elder Scrolls Online you'll still have some time to adventure in Skyrim lol.

Yes! I'm not sure actually, because i usually only play one/two games around the same time. I do have plenty of time each day though, so I might squeeze in some Skyrim!

I've decided to start writing a Skyrim Fiction to go parallel with my gameplay. Let's see how that goes..

Oh that's really awesome! I used to write a bit of fan fiction about the Gundam Wing anime actually, though those stories are long lost.

Thank you so much for your comments, always a joy to talk to a fellow gamer :D

You should stream your game play for sure.

I would check out "Steam" the gaming library platform if you want a great place to store all your games (you can even add games not from steam).

If you don't already know about Humble Bundle then I would suggest that as well as G2A.

Humble Bundle is amazing and straight forward but G2A looks a little fishy but I have never had problems there and neither has any of my friends as I have several who buy things off the website.

I'll definitely remember to stream some more of my game play in the future.

I have Steam and a big library filled with games, most of which are silly, cheap games I won once or got for free. Haven't even played most yet, but it's nice to know they're there for when I feel adventurous ;-)

I bought a Humble Bundle or two! And a few from Indiegala aswell. G2A gave me the oportunity to buy HoMM4 for cheap, but people are against the site, because of reasons I keep forgetting. Something about being unfair to game developers.

Hmm, I am unsure why anyone would be against G2A. Although as I am playing games and not developing them I still use the website although I don't buy things very often but usually just look for better deals and price compare.

My go to is the Steam Store as well as Humble Bundle.

I hope to catch one of your streams soon! :D

I was thinking too about jumpin on WoW once again, but I am glad I did not. It would ruin my life again :D Stick to skyrim, it is easier to quit!

Haha, yeah that's the problem with WoW! If I do return to that game, I would have to keep myself from joining a hardcore raiding guild. That's what kept me addicted last time. Just playing the game solo or with a few friends, casual, is much more managable :D

Friends are the biggest problem tho! :D "comon just one more RHC etc"

I would just stream and eat lol. I agree, dont like to start a game that im unfamiliar with when the other person has already mastered the game. I understand how you feel i was streaming Diablo 3 and amongst the endless Fortnight and PUBg Dlive streams im not sure how enticing Diablo 3 looks in comparison. I like to stream Diablo 3 with my girlfriend because that way even if noone is watching the stream, i still have someone to talk to, it feels abit awkward just talking to myself on a stream otherwise lol.

Do you have any tips streaming on DLive I have tried streaming on there so many times and every stream is blurry and laggy, i dont get that problem on any other platform as i use an Elgato capture card. Im not used to streaming through OBS and no matter what settings i have the picture isnt great.

Honestly, I'm just streaming with my base setup on OBS. I once set it up for streaming on Twitch through some guide which was from howtogeek I think... I don't actually know much about it, so I'm happy it's working fine for me without any hassle!

Thanks for replying, maybe thats my problem, I stream with a capture card on other platforms and have never used OBS before. It is frustrating because I really want to stream on here and my streams just are blurry. I know I'm not the only one having problems with OBS, maybe its just us who aren't used to using it.

You bet Im going to look for that Howtogeek guide online now lol. Thanks anyway :D

Aah, see I used this: https://www.howtogeek.com/183900/how-to-stream-a-pc-game-online-with-twitch-tv/

It's really basic, so I didn't have to change much at all! It might also help that my pc is a pretty good one, but I don't really know enough about streaming to be of any more use to you in that department :-)

Thanks a bunch for doing that for me, very much appreciated. I will take a look and see what i can tweak.

My PC specs are great and my internet also so im assuming Its OBS. Im going to keep trying anyway, thanks again.

Do you have skyrim with mods?

I know there are some mods that add more content in the form of new places, missions and stories!

I already played skyrim in the 360 years ago, but thinking about trying it again in PC just to check some mods out.

Fus Ro Dah with fart sounds, lol! There's a lot of hilarious mods for the game. ^o^

No, I'm playing without mods for now. I might try them eventually, but for now I want to enjoy the game as is :-)

That's so sweet (that you play together that is)....couples who game together stay together <3

couples who game together stay together <3

Definitely! We're both very happy that we have a fellow gamer as partner :D

Ohhh I understand you!

I am playing Kingdom Come: Deliverance, and my girlfriend want me to play YS :P

Buy hey, I love Elders Scrolls! What do you think about the online game? Is worth it?

Tell me your opinion :)

I haven't played the online game yet, so I wouldn't be able to tell you. Maybe one day :-)

I will wait :) I need to know more about the online game because I love the ES world :)

Is been long you stream on gaming, we waiting patiently for it. Pleas check your message on discord @playfulfoodie

I'd do it, well, I am doing it but at the moment my connection is so weird that i Can't figure out what the problem is, there's a lot of streaming going on now with Dlive so it'd be a great time to jump onto it and get started early and join some friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49