Foodie joins the resistance

in #gaming6 years ago

The time has come to join the resistance.

The time has come to paint the town blue.

The time has come... to play Ingress.

Ingress gaming
(By Niantic Labs via Wikimedia Commons)

For those of you who don't know what Ingress is, Ingress is the older brother of Pokemon Go. It was created by Niantic and it's basically what Pokemon Go was based on.

Ingress is an augmented reality game on your phone, both for Android and iOS. It's a sci-fi game where you have two sides fighting for control: the Enlightened and the Resistance.

To quote wikipedia:

Alongside the discovery of the Higgs Boson by the physicists at CERN in 2012,[9] it has also been discovered that the Earth has been seeded with "Exotic Matter", or XM. This substance has been associated with the Shapers, a mysterious phenomenon or alien race.

Within the game, human reactions to this discovery fall into two opposing factions: the Enlightened fight believing their actions will uplift humanity and bring about the next chapter in human evolution, whereas the Resistance believes that it is protecting humanity from Shaper ingression and preserving humanity's freedom.

When you're out in the world, you'll see a map and on it, you'll find portals. These portals are generally close to landmarks like statues and such (like pokestops in Pokemon Go). These are your objective and you want to capture them all for your faction. To destroy and capture portals (or take other action in the game), you will need to gather XM, which is basically your energy for actions.

There is a lot more to the game, but I don't know about it yet. I have never played it and never read up on it.

But Foodie, why play it now?

I'm glad you asked! Basically, my boyfriend's best friend told me a few days ago "I'll give you a 100 euros if you start playing Ingress through my invite and get to level 3.".

Never one to let an opportunity go to waste, I told him he can keep his 100 euros and I'll do it if he buys us sushi for dinner!

Then today, his original plan was to go to my old city to do some geocaching and we would join him. However, he also wanted to play Ingress here, in his city later. So our plans changed and now we will just head out in the afternoon to play Ingress with him.

So, I installed the game on my phone, joined the resistance and here we are!

When the game was released a couple of years ago, I did find it quite interesting and wanted to try it. However, I didn't have an Android phone, nor did I (or do I now) have a phone subsciption with internet access. I was, and still am, a pre-paid phone user, so I had no real way of playing the game. That's why I didn't want to learn too much about it and later just forgot about it and tried Pokemon Go in areas with free wi-fi.

Now, my boyfriend had limitless internet on his phone, so I can piggyback off of that to play as much Pokemon Go and Ingress as I'd like!

I'll keep you updated on whether or not I like the game and maybe do a more in depth article later.




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |Patreon |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |

Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I told him he can keep his 100 euros and I'll do it if he buys us sushi for dinner!

Wait... 100 bucks and you would rather get sushi? how much is the sushi worth over there xD i can get a full buffet for 10 bucks here in my city

Never played this game, but i played a lot of pokemongo! The best thing was the amount of people that played pokemon go, i live in a small city so we all know each other, every time i went to a poke stop that had lure there were around 20 of my friends already there trying to get all the pokemon, it was really cool... it's a shame the game isn't that popular right now... EVEN my father played pokemon GO ahahaha

Haha, no sushi isn't that expensive over here, but I couldn't very well let him pay me 100 euros for playing a game ;-)

I played some Pokemon Go, but I didn't (and still don't) have data on my phone, so I wasn't really free to do much of it when it was at its peak, so I never really met people through it. Ingress feels more immersive and you get more of that 'team spirit' feeling I think. Atleast from what I noticed yesterday!

100 Euros to play a legendary game? :D

I remember watching people play Ingress on the bus, trying to capture points as they were passing them. This is a more dynamic game than PokemonGo, but the portals are in the same spots as where Pokestops are now! c;

You got this!

Crazy, right! I couldn't let him pay me 100 euros to play a game though, so sushi sounded more reasonable (and delicious). We didn't end up eating sushi though, because everything was booked full! We did have a fun and healthy time yesterday :D

I would have taken the euros lol, but that's because we have so many sushi places here. Awww, it was still kind of you, food and fun is the way to go! :3 <3

Will try check on the game to see how it is. I lobe sci-fi game also @playfulgoodie

100euro😂😂😂😂
Is a big money here

100euro😂😂😂😂
Is a big money here

Hah, yes! He might have just been crazy enough to mean it, but I figured I shouldn't take advantage ;-)
Free sushi is always nice though!

Oh wow, I played that ages ago! It was a lot of fun!

Ooh great! I'm looking forward to learning the game :D

Why the resistance though? o.o

Basically because my boyfriend and his best friend are the resistance and I want to play with them :D

I see, I want to be buddies with the aliens so I chose the other side. 😁

Haha good reasoning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97