Backlog Review | Silent Hill 4: The Room

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

I take a look at the game that has an unhealthy obsession with dank and disgusting holes, Silent Hill 4: The Room.


It Starts With Denial


If I’m going to be perfectly honest I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with the Silent Hill series. Going from illogically hating it as a Resident Evil fanboy, to loving it for its dark and disturbing atmosphere, to once again loathing it for it’s horribly clunky and unruly combat mechanics. You see, I have this inexplicable habit to keep trying things until I force myself to like it. So, I always seem to come crawling back to the series.

The same could be said about Silent Hill 4. If I recall correctly, I had no desire to ever revisit this game after playing it the first time. It was one of those games that just made you go... UUUGGGHHH... everytime you think about playing it. Nevertheless, after all these years I wanted to revisit it to figure out why it always left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

Against Anyone’s Best Judgement


Silent Hill 4 is the last numbered installment to Konami’s famed survival horror franchise and was released in 2004 for the PlayStation 2, Xbox, and Windows PCs. Headed by Team Silent, development on Silent Hill 4 began soon after the release of Silent Hill 2 and was worked on in tandem to Silent Hill 3. Konami’s original intention was to take a departure from the established series formula and add new features that would set it apart from its predecessors. Whether or not Konami was successful in that regard is a decisive topic, but that’s an argument that’s ricketier than a two legged stool.

In Silent Hill 4 you play as Henry Townshend, introvert, peeping tom extraordinaire, and resident of the Ashfield Heights apartment complex. For the past five days Henry has been trapped in his apartment by supernatural forces with seemingly no way to escape. Short of a hole in the wall and a peephole in his door to watch his superintendent vigorously vacuum the halls, he has no connection to the outside world either.

On top of it all, it just so happens that Mr. Townshend’s apartment is somehow linked to a mysterious and fanatical serial killer! Who years after his last victim is now back on the prowl. Luckily (though he may think otherwise), Henry’s apartment is a nexus of portals to the twisted and dangerous otherworld that’s so prevalent in this series. Against any sane person’s best judgement, Henry enters these "shifty as heck" holes to find that they are connected to the killer and he must unravel the tangled web of clues in order to escape.

Such is Life


Like the games that came before it, Silent Hill 4 is an intriguing experience filled with grotesque monsters, unnerving environments and haunting music. Also, like its predecessors Silent Hill 4 is plagued with horribly clunky controls, stiff combat and obtuse environmental puzzles. You would think Konami would have learned from their mistakes by this point but alas they keep falling down the same deep, dank hole. C’est la vie.

Because the atmosphere in these games has always been fascinatingly somber and well crafted I’m usually able to look past their quirks. Silent Hill 4 follows that up with its own brand of “beat your face off the wall” frustrations. Things like the added first person sequences in Henry’s apartment feel shoehorned in and only break the flow of the game. In addition to that, departures from the clever puzzles found in previous games is a bit of a disappointment. They may have required some real brain power to decipher but they were always fun to solve. Silent Hill 4 on the other hand just leaves it at obtuse and calls it a day. I had to scour multiple FAQs just to figure out where the heck to go next on more than a few occasions.

It doesn’t stop there either. Silent Hill 4 throws the whole “reward you for your work and progress” thing out the window as well. Instead, as you get further in the game it creates more and more roadblocks and annoyances that are purely used to hinder your progress. And not the fun kind either. It’s more like the kind that’ll make you want to disconnect your PS2 and lock it up in storage (game included) for another decade. You know, long enough to forget why you hated the game in the first place.

My Mind Has Been Made Up


Ok, ok, Silent Hill 4 isn’t a completely horrible game. It may not be the best in the Silent Hill series by a long shot, but there’s still fun to be had. Well, if nothing else, the horrible voice acting will keep you entertained. Believe you me, I wanted to put it down and never return a few times, but I kept coming back, like I always do. Mostly to see how it would conclude and because of my deep seeded masochistic tendencies to replay games I dislike. I’m weird like that.

I’ve certainly come around on the Silent Hill franchise over the years and I can appreciate it for what it is and what it did for the survival horror genre. I don’t think my feelings will ever change for Henry Townshend’s misadventure. What replaying Silent Hill 4 really did for me though was remind me that Konami needs to get their heads out of those pachinko shaped clouds and deliver on a sequel dang it! Or at least let Kojima finish P.T.! Dreamers gonna dream, am I right?


So what do you guys think of Silent Hill 4: The Room? Are you a fan of the Silent Hill series? If so, what’s your favorite one? Let me know way down there in the comments.


Want to know more about games like this? Have a thirst for reviews and other gaming shenanigans?! Follow me right here on Steemit @pixelbites for all that and more!!! And don't forget to upvote, comment and resteem!

Be sure to check out my impressions of more games like this on The Backlog Odyssey YouTube channel!

You can also find me on:

Twitter
Instagram
The Backlog Odyssey

Your support is always greatly appreciated!!

Screenshots and images created by The Backlog Odyssey

Sort:  

Greetings from the Clockwork Arena. We noticed the great content you have posted, and wished to show our support by upvoting!
We hope to meet you on our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

Awesome! Thanks!

I've had my eye out for a copy of this game, but I never come across it at a good price.

I still have to complete the first Silent Hill and haven't touched 2 or 3 yet since the first got under my skin so badly, yet I still want to have this one in my collection as well for the day I decide I want to try it out.

Interesting take on the game. I still wanna try it someday though.

I went on a kick a few years ago trying to collect each of the Silent Hill games. I was lucky enough to come across 4 for relatively cheap!

I definitely think it's worth a play for sure. Especially if you like the series and are a fan of survival horror games in general. It think my biggest issue with this one in particular though was that it kind of accentuated the things that I disliked about the previous Silent Hills.

On the flip side, 1 through 3 are excellent games and Homecoming and Downpour are definitely worth a look as well! And if you want something a little different but still takes place in the Silent Hill universe you should check out Shattered Memories. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 134 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks so much!

As a fan of the series, I played it. Loved the second game, was somewhat disappointed by the third (in hindsight it's actually a nice game) and was baffled by The Room.

I felt that the room idea was interesting (it wasn't meant to be a Silent Hill game, not sure if you knew that), and the weird characters and overall craziness suits the series - that first picture with the giant face haunted my dreams for a few days.

However, I hated the design and don't really remember anything specific about the puzzles. The one thing that I remember is the tower puzzle, which was the stuff of nightmares. Whoever came up with that idea should have been fired immediately!

Sadly, from then on the Silent Hill series turned into a cash cow, and I'm still waiting for some game that lives up to the first three titles.

I completely agree. The Room had so much potential but ended up falling flat.

I really do hope Konami delivers a new entry in the series at some point but I'm not going to hold my breath. PT looked like it had so much potential and it's really too bad it was canceled.

Speaking of which, I still have it installed on my PS4 and haven't played it yet. I'm definitely going to have to fire that sucker up and review it! ;)

Play that s**t up :D

I played it on PC (a fan-made remake) and while it lacked a few graphical features, it was creepy as hell. No, really, CREEPY. I didn't even know what the gameplay was all about (the loop thing) - I like to stay in the dark for games that I may end up playing. It was really chilly, it felt like you're thrown into a nightmare time and time again.

Go for it, now! :D

PS: Good luck with the final puzzle. I couldn't do it and in fact was too petrified to do it anyway. Screw the ending :)

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63