Jet Force Gemini │ A childhood throwback.

in #gaming6 years ago

Hello everyone, Piroct here. I decided that for my first post in my personal account I will share with you some of my memories when the only thing that mattered was food and my Nintendo64.

Hope you find it entretaining and interesting!

If you owned a Nintendo64 back in the day and you heard: "Rare's releasing a game for the Nintendo64", you knew that that game was something to look for. You knew that it will probably grew to be a cult classic.

Rare_logo.png

When I was 8 years old a friend of my brother gifted me all his Nintendo64 games because his console got burnt as a result of a power outage. He took that as a sign to let go his old games and continue with his life. I was really thankful because the only thing I had at that age were a couple a toys and my Nintendo64 with only a couple of games that I had played for too long.

giphy.gif

Inside the box he gave me Donkey Kong, Zelda: Majora's Mask, and Jet Force Gemini were waiting for me. And don't get me wrong, I had a blast playing all of my Nintendo64 games, from Banjoo Kazooie and Kirby: Crystal Shard to Super Mario 64, but I recently found my Nintendo64 console intact and the first game I tried was Jet Force Gemini. After playing for a while I think I got too much things to share about it, so that's why I'm talking about this game in particular.

ceee62d2ae876bdade4bd35d8e74ae0e.jpg

If you never heard anything about Jet Force Gemini, let me give you a quick run down about the game:

Thumbnail_Large.PNG

Jet Force Gemini is a 3D Action-Shooter developed by Rare Studios and launched in 1999. After Rare's success in the First-Person Shooter front with GoldenEye007 and Perfect Dark, they wanted to try something new and they thought about a Third-Person Shooter. Mixing control elements from GoldenEye007 and Turok they came up with the perfect "actiony" control scheme for a Third-Person Shooter using a Nintendo64 controller.

jet force gemini screen 1.jpg

Although the controls where far from intuitive I don't remember having a problem getting use to them when I was a kid. Maybe because at that age I was pretty good with the Nintendo64 controller. Note how I said "was", now that I tried to play it again and failed miserably in the first level...
I spent too much time playing when I was a kid, it was one of the only things I could do apart from studying and going to school, so my brain knew that controller as it were an extension of my own body... Well, maybe not that dramatic, but I knew my way around... Now it's different, it just feel like every important button is too far from each other and I don't get to find the comfortable position I once used back in the day.

giphy.gif

Although I spent a hard time trying to be comfortable with the controller I enjoyed so much visiting those old worlds. At the time, the graphics of Jet Force Gemini where amazing. I remember seeing floor with reflections and sun rays with such detail... It was really amazing and I still find it beautiful to watch. Not only the graphics but every little detail. I remember discovering that you could kill little fishes in rivers and ponds by throwing grenades at them! It was so fun to discover every little thing that the game offered in terms of immersion. I really liked playing while imagining I was the protagonist of a perfectly-acted movie.

gfs_42365_2_6.jpg

Jet Force Gemini reward me with so many fun times, it doesn't matter if it was only to run around exploring every level or just to shoot at every drone I find, I'd always have fun for hours and hours... I really grateful for owning this game.

Well, it's good to have written my thoughts about it. How about you? You have any Childhood memory to share? Please let me know!

Mesa de trabajo 1.png

steemgc_logo (1).png

Sort:  



Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Good times playing old consoles!

Keep the good work man!

Cheers,

@t-miles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89