My lack of motivation

in #gaming7 years ago

image
I have been struggling to learn about something i love and would love to do one day...let me exsplain.

So in my career i build 3D models and renders and animations for architects. I can show you how your building is going to look before the first brick hits the ground.

Now this career and talents bring me close to another career or hobby depending on the person.

image

Game Design
My job has all the same elements in it as there would be in game making. I have Unreal engine and have played with it for a bit. I get to a certain place and then lose interest.

I realise its because there is no sense of achievement while i am making a scene. With my job once i build a scene and hit render. There is a sense of job well done when i deliver the final images.
image

With learning to make a game there isn't much of that feeling. Also im used to producing works of art with 3ds max and lumion. Now trying to learn a difficult program and still reaching that level of work....
image

This is not practical..i realise im aiming too high and want it too fast...so from now on i will be posting my progress with unreal engine. Slowly this time...
My first task should be like a house or just a runway with some jump obsticles....

Any gamers or creators please help and give me some suggestions.

Sort:  

My hubby and his brother has an idea for a new game. Maybe you 3 should get together and make an epic game.

Now that could be interesting

Hey there, I am a software engineering and when I was in school and took some game design courses so I thought I would just give you some advice. I would recommend trying to make your own game that way you feel that sense of accomplishment. you can start of small. what they made us do is a 2d game and then a 3d game. creating an entire little game will let you practice and it will let you see something to completion. as you work on new games you can make then more complex and learn more.

I had class mates that were really into game design and that's what they would do. they would create interesting small levels for their game ideas. They made on simple 2d platformer that was very cool. you played as a simple character that had a flash light. you had to get to the finish avoiding enemies and using your light on them. your light would drain and it would slowly recharge. half way thru the level a giant dragon came out that chased you. you could freeze it for a few second with your light to keep moving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67152.33
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67