Atari Jaguar -- Showing off my video game collectionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

IMG_1883.JPG

I'm starting a new series showing off my favorite classic video game systems from my collection. My girlfriend and I make a point of going garage sale-ing each weekend and frequently come home with a bunch of cool video games and classic systems. We run an Ebay store and sell most of the games, but I like to keep some for my collection. Some of the systems are ones I have collected over the years. I am a child of the 80's and I played with my Nintendo Entertainment System after school everyday! That system made me admire video games and from there my collection has grown.

Today I am showing off my Atari Jaguar system. I only have 2 games for it, and I will show them off in the pictures below. I eventually want to get a copy of Aliens VS Predator. That's supposed to be one of the better games for the system. The Atari Jaguar was marketed as the first 64 bit system in the US and it was released in 1993 when the 16 bit consoles Sega genesis and the Super Nintendo were the hot systems. While it was a technically superior system, it had several flaws and was very difficult to program for. The console did have a pair of powerful processors code-named Tom and Jerry, but Atari provided a difficult assembly language so not many programmers could make full use of it. Instead many of the game developers opted to program games using the consoles manager chip which was a 16 bit Motorola 68000 because of their familiarity with the processor.

IMG_1880.JPG
The hardware

IMG_1885.JPG
The strange controller

Here are the two games I have for the system.

--Cybermorph-- The pack-in game.
IMG_1884.JPG

This is a basic 3d shooting game. I am not very impressed with it. I feel like the Jaguar was capable of a lot more, and this really doesn't show off the systems capabilities. Your vehicle does not have a very long range of vision and you frequently run into objects where an annoying computer voice repeatedly makes the comment "Where did you learn to drive?"

IMG_1887.JPG
I'm giving you the middle finger dumb ass computer, you don't even have thumbs

--Kasumi Ninja--
IMG_1886.JPG

This is a Mortal combat clone and a pretty decent one. The Jaguar controller has sort of a slow response rate, so it makes the game more difficult than it needs to be, but otherwise a fun game.

This is just the start of my collection, but I hope that you will stick around and continue to read my posts as I progress through all my systems. Let me know what your favorite classic system is.

Sort:  

Great article. I love going down memory lane like this. Did you know there are companies still making games for the Atari Jaguar?

Wow! That's crazy. I'll do some searching for those projects. Thanks for the info! I eventually want to get more games for the system. Tempest 2000 is supposed to be really good and there are a couple others that were well reviewed.

Here are five good ones if you are interested in checking out what I think are the best so far. https://steemit.com/gaming/@triverse/atari-jaguar-sees-new-life-five-new-games

Thanks for the list of games. I had no idea people were still programming for the jaguar. I'm following your posts now!

You are welcome. I was a little apprehensive about posting the link on your article but I thought what the hell - he is a Jag fan so it may not appear to be spam.

I love talking with other gamers about stuff like this by the way. Not many of us remember stuff like the Jag as most during that period got a Playstation and be damned anything else. lol

Congratulations @penname! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

woooooooow......i like this post

Thank you so much! I appreciate it. I'll be doing another one very soon

ok friend

I miss collecting sometimes. My favorites are probably TG16 and Dreamcast, but I love them all.

Just for you @oregonpop my next post will be about one of those systems. Here's a sneak peek. image

I'll be waiting anxiously!

yo follow me up guys for great daily gaming content and a few laughs, follow upvote comment and resteem for more of the best gaming blog on steemit

Good stuff man! Brings back fun memories!

Thanks so much! :) I will be doing more very soon

Congratulations @penname! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!


Please see your post mentioned here

nice would appreciate a follow from someone as cool looking as you

Thanks for the resteem! That was awesome of you!

Congratulations @penname! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85